< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Aus 1st ODI: Jadeja's all-round effort, Rahul's calm approach lands India first win

India started off the three-match ODI series against Australia with a five-wicket win in the opening game at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

Australia was bowled out for 188 in 35.4 overs and in response India chased down the target in 39.5 overs to finish on 191 for five.

Asked to bat, Australia was well served by a 72 run second wicket stand between Mitchell Marsh and Steve Smith. Marsh finished on 81 off 65 balls with 10 boundaries and five sixes. Then Marsh added a further 52 runs for the third wicket with Marnus Labuschagne. But then there was a collapse as Australia slipped from 77 for one to 188 all out. They lost nine wickets for 111 runs. Towards the end none of the other batters contributed to the team's total. Australia were bowled out in 35.4 overs. For India the chief wicket-takers were Mohammed Shami (3-17) and Mohammed Siraj (3-29). The other main wicket-taker was Ravindra Jadeja (2-46).

In their chase India lost their top-order cheaply. At one stage India was struggling at 16 for three. Then Shubman Gill and KL Rahul tried to revive the chase. Then after Gill fell, India had to depend on their stand-in skipper Hardik Pandya to shepherd the innings. Pandya along with Rahul added 44 runs for the fifth wicket. Then Rahul carried on in his innings as he teamed up with Jadeja. Together this sixth wicket pair added 108 runs and helped India cross the finishing line in 39.5 overs. For Australia the best bowler was Mitchell Starc (3-49). The second match of the three-match ODI series will be played on Sunday at Vizag. 

Match Summary
Australia: 188 (35.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Travis Head-1.6 ov), 2-77 (Steven Smith-12.3 ov), 3-129 (Mitchell Marsh-19.4 ov), 4-139 (Marnus Labuschagne-22.4 ov), 5-169 (Josh Inglis-27.5 ov), 6-174 (Cameron Green-29.3 ov), 7-184 (Marcus Stoinis-31.3 ov), 8-184 (Glenn Maxwell-32.2 ov), 9-188 (Sean Abbott-33.4 ov), 10-188 (Adam Zampa-35.4 ov)

India: 191-5 (39.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Ishan Kishan-1.6 ov), 2-16 (Virat Kohli-4.5 ov), 3-16 (Suryakumar Yadav-4.6 ov), 4-39 (Shubman Gill-10.2 ov), 5-83 (Hardik Pandya-19.2 ov)


Playing XI

India: Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami

Australia: Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Steven Smith (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

Match Detils
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023