< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Aus 1st T20I: Green stars as Australia chase down massive score

Matthew Wade
Matthew Wade
India's Hardik Pandya
India's Hardik Pandya

Australia started the three-match T20I series against India with a four-wicket win in the opening game at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Tuesday night.

Earlier, asked to bat India posted 208 for six in their 20 overs and in their response Australia chased down the target in 19.2 overs to finish on 211 for six.

India had been reduced to 35 for two in 4.5 overs. Then a revival act was set in motion by vice-captain Lokesh Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav. Rahul (55: 35b, 4x4, 3x6) and Yadav (46: 25b, 2x4, 4x6) added 68 runs for the third wicket. After Rahul and Yadav fell in quick succession, the innings was revived by Hardik Pandya. In the end Pandya finished unbeaten on 71 off 30 balls with seven boundaries and five sixes. India finished on 208 for six in their 20 overs. For Australia the best bowlers were Nathan Ellis (3-30) and Josh Hazlewood (2-39).

In their response, Australia began on a hectic note. Then makeshift opener Cameron Green took charge of the chase. Green added 70 runs for the second wicket with Steve Smith. Green (61: 30b, 8x4, 4x6) fell and soon there was a collapse. Australia slipped from 109 for one to 145 for five. Then the innings was revived by a fine 62 run stand between Matthew Wade (45 n.o.: 21b, 6x4, 2x6) and Tim David (18). In the end Australia achieved the target in 19.2 overs to finish on 211 for six. For India the best bowlers were Axar Patel (3-17) and Umesh Yadav (2-27).

The second match of the series will be played in Nagpur on 23 September.

Top Tournament Stats - Australia tour of India 2022

Top Batter (Runs Scored)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Match Summary
India: 208-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Rohit Sharma-2.4 ov), 2-35 (Virat Kohli-4.5 ov), 3-103 (KL Rahul-11.5 ov), 4-126 (Suryakumar Yadav-13.3 ov), 5-146 (Axar Patel-15.5 ov), 6-176 (Dinesh Karthik-18.1 ov)

Australia: 211-6 (19.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Aaron Finch-3.3 ov), 2-109 (Cameron Green-10.1 ov), 3-122 (Steven Smith-11.3 ov), 4-123 (Glenn Maxwell-11.6 ov), 5-145 (Josh Inglis-14.1 ov), 6-207 (Tim David-19.1 ov)


Result: Australia won by four wickets 

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel,, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Josh Inglis, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Nathan Ellis, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to field
Venue: IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Start time: 1330 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World