< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Aus 2nd ODI: Starc, Marsh star in India's biggest ODI loss

Australia's Mitchell Marsh in action
Australia's Mitchell Marsh in action

Australia levelled the three-match ODI series against India with 234 balls to spare, its second biggest win in terms of balls, as they romped home with 10 wickets in hand at the ACA-VDCA Stadium in Visakhapatnam on Sunday.

This was also India's biggest loss in ODI cricket in terms of balls to spare.

Asked to bat, India was bowled out for a mere 117 in 26 overs and in response Australia chased down the target in just 11 overs to finish on 121 for no loss.

India's captain Rohit Sharma was back at the top order but that was not enough. India lost Shubman Gill cheaply. Then skipper Sharma and Virat Kohli steadied the ship. But right after that there was a collapse as India slipped from 32 for one to 49 for five. Then Kohli teamed up with Ravindra Jadeja to add 22 runs for the sixth wicket. Towards the end Axar Patel scored 29 off 29 balls with one boundary and two sixes. In the end India was bowled out for a mere 117 in 26 overs. For Australia the best bowlers were Mitchell Starc (5-53), Sean Abbott (3-23) and Nathan Ellis (2-13).

In their response Australia began in a hectic fashion. Their openers Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh put on 121 for no loss in just 11 overs. Head finished unbeaten on 51 off 30 balls with 10 boundaries, while Marsh smoked an unbeaten 66 off just 36 balls with six boundaries and six sixes.

The third and final match of the ODI series will be played in Chennai on Wednesday. 

Match Summary
India: 117 (26)
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Shubman Gill-0.3 ov), 2-32 (Rohit Sharma-4.4 ov), 3-32 (Suryakumar Yadav-4.5 ov), 4-48 (KL Rahul-8.4 ov), 5-49 (Hardik Pandya-9.2 ov), 6-71 (Virat Kohli-15.2 ov), 7-91 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.3 ov), 8-103 (Kuldeep Yadav-24.4 ov), 9-103 (Mohammed Shami-24.5 ov), 10-117 (Mohammed Siraj-25.6 ov)

Australia: 121-0 (11)


Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami

Australia: Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Cameron Green, Nathan Ellis, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to field
Venue: Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023