< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Aus 2nd Test Day 1: Shami, Ashwin, Jadeja combine to hurt Australia

India continued to hold sway in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy as they spun out Australia on the opening day of the second Test at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Friday.

After opting to bat, Australia made 263 in 78.4 overs and in response India finished the day on 21 for no loss when stumps were drawn.

Earlier, Australia made a confident start as their openers David Warner and Usman Khawaja added 50. Then there was a 41 run stand between Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne for the second wicket. Then there was a brief collapse as Australia slipped to 108 for four. Khawaja (81: 125b, 12x4, 1x6) then teamed up with Peter Handscomb to put on 59 runs for the fifth wicket. Handscomb (72 n.o.: 142b, 9x4) put on 59 runs for the seventh wicket with skipper Pat Cummins. Towards Handscomb got good support from Nathan Lyon. In the end Australia finished on 263 all ou in 78.4 overs. For India the wickets were shared by Mohammed Shami (4-60), Ravichandran Ashwin (3-57) and Ravindra Jadeja (3-68).

In their response India played out the day without much fuss. Their openers captain Rohit Sharma and his deputy KL Rahul added 21 runs were stumps were drawn.

India made one change to their playing XI as they brought in Shreyas Iyer in place of Suryakumar Yadav. Australia made two changes bringing in Travis Head in place of Matt Renshaw and debutant spinner Matthew Kuhnemann for Scott Boland. 

Match Summary
Australia: 263 (78.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-50 (David Warner-15.2 ov), 2-91 (Marnus Labuschagne-22.4 ov), 3-91 (Steven Smith-22.6 ov), 4-108 (Travis Head-31.2 ov), 5-167 (Usman Khawaja-45.5 ov), 6-168 (Alex Carey-46.6 ov), 7-227 (Pat Cummins-67.2 ov), 8-227 (Todd Murphy-67.6 ov), 9-246 (Nathan Lyon-74.2 ov), 10-263 (Matthew Kuhnemann-78.4 ov)

India: 21-0 (9)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Kona Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins (captain), Todd Murphy, Nathan Lyon, Matthew Kuhnemann

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to bat
Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Michael Gough, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023