< >
Cricket Betting us

India v Aus 2nd Test Day 2: Australia inch ahead thanks to Lyon's tricks

Australia snatched a crucial one run lead in the second Test to just inch ahead on the second day of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy match at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Saturday.

Resuming at their overnight score of 21 for no loss, India was finally bowled out for 262 handing a one run lead to Australia. When stumps were drawn, Australia were

Earlier India's openers Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul added 46 for the opening wicket. They were reduced to 66 for four as the middle-order caved in without a fight. Virat Kohli then teamed up with Ravindra Jadeja to add 59 runs for the fifth wicket. After Kohli fell for 44, there was a collapse again as India slipped from 125 for four to 139 for seven. Then Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel added 114 runs for the eighth wicket. Ashwin finished on 37 off 71 balls with five boundaries. Patel carried on as he finished on 74 off 115 balls with nine boundaries and three sixes. In the end India was bowled out for 262 in 83.3 overs. For Australia the wicket-takers were Nathan Lyon (5-67), Todd Murphy (2-53) and Matthew Kuhnemann (2-72).

Later when Australia began their second innings. Usman Khawaja opened with Travis Head as David Warner was declared unavailable. Warner's concussion substitute is Matt Renshaw. Khawaja was dismissed as Shreyas Iyer snapped up a sharp catch. In the end Australia finished on a brisk 61 for one in 12 overs with an overall lead of 62. 

Match Summary
Australia 1st Innings: 263 (78.4)

India 1st Innings: 262 (83.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (KL Rahul-17.1 ov), 2-53 (Rohit Sharma-19.2 ov), 3-54 (Cheteshwar Pujara-19.4 ov), 4-66 (Shreyas Iyer-25.2 ov), 5-125 (Ravindra Jadeja-46.5 ov), 6-135 (Virat Kohli-49.3 ov), 7-139 (Srikar Bharat-50.5 ov), 8-253 (Ravichandran Ashwin-80.2 ov), 9-259 (Axar Patel-81.6 ov), 10-262 (Mohammed Shami-83.3 ov)

Australia 2nd Innings: 61-1 (12)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Usman Khawaja-5.5 ov)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Kona Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins (captain), Todd Murphy, Nathan Lyon, Matthew Kuhnemann

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to bat
Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Michael Gough, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023