< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Aus 3rd ODI: Zampa, Agar spin Australia's ODI series triumph

Australia claimed the three-match ODI series against India with a 21 run win in the third and final match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Wednesday. Australia as a result became the top-ranked ODI side in the world post the win.

Australia after opting to bat made 269 in 49 overs and in response India ended on 248 off 49.1 overs.

Australia started off briskly as Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh put on 68 for the opening wicket. But then there was a collapse as Australia slipped to 85 for three. Then David Warner added 40 runs for the fourth wicket with Marnus Labuschagne. Then there was a 58 run sixth wicket stand between Marcus Stoinis and Alex Carey. Towards the end Australia's tail wagged as their last three wickets added 66 runs. Australia ended on 269 in 49 overs. For India the wicket-takers were Kuldeep Yadav (3-56), Hardik Pandya (3-44), Axar Patel (2-56) and Mohammed Siraj (2-37).

In their response India started off well with their captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill added 65 runs for the opening wicket. Then Virat Kohli teamed up with Lokesh Rahul to put on 69 runs for the third wicket. Then there was a collapse as Kohli fell for 54 off 72 with four boundaries and a six. Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja tried to repair the chase. But when both Pandya and Jadeja fell in quick succession. In the end India was bowled out for 248 in 49.1 overs. Suryakumar Yadav made his third golden duck in the series. For Australia the best bowlers were Adam Zampa (4-45) and Ashton Agar (2-41). 

Match Summary
Australia: 269 (49)
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Travis Head-10.5 ov), 2-74 (Steven Smith-12.2 ov), 3-85 (Mitchell Marsh-14.3 ov), 4-125 (David Warner-24.3 ov), 5-138 (Marnus Labuschagne-28.1 ov), 6-196 (Marcus Stoinis-36.6 ov), 7-203 (Alex Carey-38.1 ov), 8-245 (Sean Abbott-44.6 ov), 9-247 (Ashton Agar-45.3 ov), 10-269 (Mitchell Starc-48.6 ov)

India: 248 (49.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-65 (Rohit Sharma-9.1 ov), 2-77 (Shubman Gill-12.2 ov), 3-146 (KL Rahul-27.5 ov), 4-151 (Axar Patel-28.5 ov), 5-185 (Virat Kohli-35.1 ov), 6-185 (Suryakumar Yadav-35.2 ov), 7-218 (Hardik Pandya-43.4 ov), 8-225 (Ravindra Jadeja-45.1 ov), 9-243 (Mohammed Shami-47.5 ov), 10-248 (Kuldeep Yadav-49.1 ov)


Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith (captain), David Warner, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to bat
Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023