< >
Cricket Betting us

India v Aus 3rd Test Day 2: Lyon spins India's doom on Day 2

Australia's Nathan Lyon celebrates with teammates
Australia's Nathan Lyon celebrates with teammates

Australia are just 76 runs away from making it 2-1 in the four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy after another action-packed day on second day of the third Test at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Thursday.

Resuming at their overnight score of 156 for four, Australia was finally bowled out for 197. They had an overall lead of 88. India in response was bowled out for 163 to set a target of 76 for Australia when play resumes on Friday.

Earlier, Australia progressed from their overnight score. But Peter Handscomb fell first with the score on 186. From there on it was a steady fall of wickets as India tightened the screws. Australia lost their last six wickets for just 11 runs. Australia was bowled out for 197 in 76.3 overs. For India the top wicket-takers this morning were Ravichandran Ashwin (3-44) and Umesh Yadav (3-12).

India in response started poorly again as they lost Shubman Gill cheaply. Cheteshwar Pujara stood tall at one end as wickets started fallingat regular intervals. Pujara added 35 runs for the fifth wicket with Shreyas Iyer. Towards the end again Pujara was left stranded. Pujara made 59 off 142 balls with five boundaries and a six. In the end India finished on 163 in 60.3 overs. For Australia the best bowler was Nathan Lyon (8-64). 

Match Summary
India 1st Innings: 109 (33.2)

Australia 1st Innings: 197 (76.3)
Fall of wickets: 5-186 (Peter Handscomb-70.6 ov), 6-188 (Cameron Green-71.6 ov), 7-192 (Mitchell Starc-73.3 ov), 8-196 (Alex Carey-74.1 ov), 9-197 (Todd Murphy-75.3 ov), 10-197 (Nathan Lyon-76.3 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 163 (60.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Shubman Gill-4.6 ov), 2-32 (Rohit Sharma-14.4 ov), 3-54 (Virat Kohli-22.4 ov), 4-78 (Ravindra Jadeja-30.5 ov), 5-113 (Shreyas Iyer-37.2 ov), 6-118 (Srikar Bharat-40.1 ov), 7-140 (Ravichandran Ashwin-48.1 ov), 8-155 (Cheteshwar Pujara-56.3 ov), 9-155 (Umesh Yadav-56.5 ov), 10-163 (Mohammed Siraj-60.3 ov)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Kona Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: Usman Khawaja,Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith (captain), Peter Handscomb, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Matthew Kuhnemann

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Joel Wilson, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023