< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Aus 4th Test Day 3: Gill, Kohli drive India's reply

India gave a strong reply to Australia's big first innings total and now trail by 191 runs at the end of the third day of the fourth Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Saturday.

Resuming at their overnight score of 36 for no loss, India ended the day at 289 for three.

India's openers captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill added 74 for the opening wicket. Sharma fell first for 35. But Gill carried on in the company of number three batter Cheteshwar Pujara. Together the pair put on 113 runs for the second wicket. Pujara fell for 42 off 121 balls with three boundaries. Then Gill added 58 runs for the third wicket with Virat Kohli. Gill ended on 128 off 235 balls with 12 boundaries and a six. Kohli then added a further 44 runs for the fourth wicket with Ravindra Jadeja. Kohli stroked an unbeaten 59 off 128 balls with five boundaries.

For Australia the wickets were shared by the three spinners Nathan Lyon (1-75), Matthew Kuhnemann (1-43) and Todd Murphy (1-45). 

Match Summary
Australia 1st Innings: 480 (167.2)

India 1st Innings: 289-3 (99)
Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Rohit Sharma-20.6 ov), 2-187 (Cheteshwar Pujara-61.6 ov), 3-245 (Shubman Gill-78.4 ov)


Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Shreyas Iyer, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Australia: Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith (captain), Peter Handscomb, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Matthew Kuhnemann

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to bat
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Joel Wilson (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023