< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Eng 2nd T20I: Debutant Ishan Kishan, Kohli lead India to win

India stormed back in style to level the five-match Twenty20 International series with a fine seven-wicket win over England on Sunday at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Monday.

England posted 164 for six in their 20 overs and India chased it down in 17.5 overs to win by seven wickets to finish on 166 for three.

  Earlier, India opted to bowl and bowled a terrific restrictive line. England's top-scorer was Jason Roy (46: 35b, 4x4, 2x6). The other batsmen did contribute like Dawid Malan (24), Eoin Morgan (28), Ben Stokes (24) and Jonny Bairstow (20).

Roy added 63 for the second wicket with Malan. India's bowlers especially Washington Sundar (2-29) and Shardul Thakur (2-29) were the best bowlers on view. Towards the end, England could score just 34 runs in the back five overs as India seamers restricted them well.

The chase for India did not get off on the right note as Lokesh Rahul fell for a duck. But debutant Ishan Kishan (56: 32b, 5x4, 4x6) went beserk. Kishan added 94 in 55 balls with skipper Virat Kohli (73 n.o,: 49b, 5x4, 3x6) to put India back on track.

Then Rishabh Pant stepped in with a brisk 26 off 13 balls with two boundaries and two sixes.

India finally won in a canter as Kohli stayed there till the end in the company of Shreyas Iyer.

India made two changes to their XI bringing in debutants Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav in place of Axar Patel and Shikhar Dhawan. England made one forced change bringing in Tom Curran for an injured Mark Wood.

Match Summary - India v England, 2nd T20I, Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad

England: 164-6 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Jos Buttler-0.3 ov), 2-64 (Dawid Malan-8.2 ov), 3-91 (Jason Roy-11.1 ov), 4-119 (Jonny Bairstow-13.5 ov), 5-142 (Eoin Morgan-17.1 ov), 6-160 (Ben Stokes-19.4 ov)

India: 166-3 (17.5)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (KL Rahul-0.6 ov), 2-94 (Ishan Kishan-9.6 ov), 3-130 (Rishabh Pant-13.4 ov)

Result: India won by seven wickets 


Playing XIs

India: Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur,  Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal

England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Eoin Morgan (captain), Sam Curran, Tom Curran,  Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Debuts: Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav (India)
Match Officials: Anil Chaudhary, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Nitin Umpire (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)