< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Eng 3rd T20I: Buttler, Wood star in England win

England took a 2-1 lead in the five-match series with a terrific eight-wicket win in the third Twenty20 International at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad on Tuesday.

Match Summary - India v England, Third T20I, Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad

India 156-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (KL Rahul-2.3 ov), 2-20 (Rohit Sharma-4.4 ov), 3-24 (Ishan Kishan-5.2 ov), 4-64 (Rishabh Pant-11.1 ov), 5-86 (Shreyas Iyer-14.3 ov), 6-156 (Hardik Pandya-19.6 ov)

England 158-2 (18.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Jason Roy-3.3 ov), 2-81 (Dawid Malan-9.4 ov)

Result -  England won by eight wickets


India asked to bat, posted a modest 156 for six in their 20 overs. In their response, England chased down the target in 18.2 overs to spare to finish on 158 for two with eight wickets to spare.

India lost early wickets and were struggling at 24 for three in the sixth over. Skipper Virat Kohli took charge of the innings. He remained unbeaten on 77 off 46 balls with eight boundaries and four sixes. Kohli first shared a 40-run stand with Rishabh Pant (25). Then he added 70 runs for the sixth wicket with Hardik Pandya (17).

For England, the best bowler was Mark Wood (3-31) and Chris Jordan finished with figures of two for 35.

In their chase, opener Jos Buttler led from the front with a blistering knock. Buttler finished unbeaten on 83 off 52 balls with five boundaries and four sixes. He added 58 runs for the second wicket with Dawid Malan to put England's chase on track.

Buttler then completed the chase in fine style in the company of Jonny Bairstow (40 not out). Buttler added 77 runs for the third wicket with Bairstow to help England win in fine style.

India made one change with Rohit Sharma coming in place of Suryakumar Yadav and England too brought back Wood in Tom Curran's place.

Playing XIs

England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match details
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021