< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Eng 4th T20I: India hold their nerve to level series

India held their nerves well to level the five-match Twenty20 International series at 2-2 with a final match to go on Saturday at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.

On Thursday, India batted first and posted 185 for eight in their 20 overs. England in their chase fell short by eight runs to finish on 177 for eight.

Earlier, asked to bat, India started off poorly again. It was down to number three batsman Suryakumar Yadav (57:31b, 6x4, 3x6) to play a free flowing innings. Yadav had two stands, first worth 42 with Lokesh Rahul for second wicket. Then Yadav added 40 runs for the fourth wicket with Rishabh Pant (30). India finished confidently, but not before Yadav and Washington Sundar fell to dodgy third umpire decisions as their catches were absolute line calls.

The best bowler for England was Jofra Archer (4-33).

The chase went off well initially for England. Opener Jason Roy (40) started off well. Jonny Bairstow (25) then added 65 runs for the fourth wicket with Ben Stokes (46). But then there was a middle-order collapse which completely threw the chase off as Shardul Thakur struck at regular intervals.

Towards the end, Archer used the long handle well, striking 10 runs in the final over off Thakur. But that excitement did not last long as India won by eight runs.

For India, the best bowlers were Hardik Pandya (2-16), Rahul Chahar (2-35) and Thakur (3-42).

India made two changes to their playing XI bringing in Chahar in place of Yuzvendra Chahal and Yadav in place of an injured Ishan Kishan.

Match Summary - India v England, 4th T20I, Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad

India 185-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Rohit Sharma-3.4 ov), 2-63 (KL Rahul-7.4 ov), 3-70 (Virat Kohli-8.4 ov), 4-110 (Suryakumar Yadav-13.2 ov), 5-144 (Rishabh Pant-16.2 ov), 6-170 (Hardik Pandya-18.5 ov), 7-174 (Shreyas Iyer-19.1 ov), 8-179 (Washington Sundar-19.4 ov)

England 177-8 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Jos Buttler-2.5 ov), 2-60 (Dawid Malan-7.5 ov), 3-66 (Jason Roy-8.5 ov), 4-131 (Jonny Bairstow-14.5 ov), 5-140 (Ben Stokes-16.1 ov), 6-140 (Eoin Morgan-16.2 ov), 7-153 (Sam Curran-17.6 ov), 8-177 (Chris Jordan-19.5 ov)

Result - India won by eight runs


Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Chahar.

England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

Match Details

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Nitin Menon (On-field umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)