< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v Eng 5th T20I: Kumar, Thakur, Kohli star in India series win

India celebrate winning the series with the trophy
India celebrate winning the series with the trophy
©REUTERS/Danish Siddiqui

India held their nerves to beat England by 36 runs to win the fifth and final T20 International on Saturday at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Match Summary - India v England, 5th T20I, Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad

India 224-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-94 (Rohit Sharma-8.6 ov), 2-143 (Suryakumar Yadav-13.2 ov)

England 188-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Jason Roy-0.2 ov), 2-130 (Jos Buttler-12.5 ov), 3-140 (Jonny Bairstow-14.3 ov), 4-142 (Dawid Malan-14.6 ov), 5-142 (Eoin Morgan-15.3 ov), 6-165 (Ben Stokes-18.3 ov), 7-168 (Jofra Archer-18.6 ov), 8-174 (Chris Jordan-19.3 ov)

Result -  India won by 36 runs


India won the five match series 3-2

India posted 224 for two in their 20 overs, England finished on 188 for eight in their response as the home team won the series.

Earlier, India asked to bat posted an impressive 224 for two in their 20 overs. India began with their captain Virat Kohli (80 n.o.: 52b, 7x4, 2x6) and Rohit Sharma (64: 34b, 4x4, 5x6). Kohli and Sharma added 94 for the opening wicket. Then he added a quick 49 runs for the second wicket with Suryakumar Yadav (32). Thereafter, India finished on a high with Kohli added unbroken 81 runs for the third wicket with Hardik Pandya (39 n.o.).

For England the wicket-takers were Adil Rashid (1-31) and Ben Stokes (1-26).

England were progressing well with a fantastic 130-run second wicket stand between Jos Buttler (52: 34b, 2x4, 4x6) and Dawid Malan (68: 46b, 9x4, 2x6).

England's middle-order collapsed thanks to some terrific bowling by Shardul Thakur (3-45) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2-15). England in the end lost their way and finished on 188 for eight in their 20 overs.

India made one change to the playing XI bringing in T Natarajan in place of Lokesh Rahul. England went in with the same playing XI.

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Chahar, T Natarajan

England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Eoin Morgan (captain), Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

Match Details
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021