< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v New Zealand, 2nd T20I: Clinical India seal series win

India sealed their three-match Twenty20 International series against New Zealand by winning the second match on Friday night with a seven-wicket win.

At the JSCA Stadium in Ranchi, New Zealand after being asked to bat posted 153 for six in their 20 overs and India responded by chasing down the target in 17.2 overs to finish on 155 for three.

New Zealand started off swiftly with Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell putting on 48 for the opening wicket in 4.2 overs. But after Guptill fell, the innings suffered a slowdown. Barring a 35 run fourth wicket partnership between Glenn Phillips and Tim Seifert there was nothing much to talk about. The New Zealand did not have a strong finish. New Zealand ended on 153 for six in their 20 overs. For India the best bowler was debutant Harshal Patel with figures of two for 25.

In their response, India started off excellently. Captain Rohit Sharma and Lokesh Rahul added 117 runs for the opening wicket. The openers were confident in their strokeplay. Rahul fell in the 14th over for 65 off 49 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Sharma on the other hand fell for 55 off 36 balls with one boundary and five sixes. Towards the end, Venkatesh Iyer and Rishabh Pant finished off the chase on 17.2 overs to finish on 155 for three to set-up a seven-wicket win.

Match Summary
New Zealand: 153-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Martin Guptill-4.2 ov), 2-79 (Mark Chapman-8.5 ov), 3-90 (Daryl Mitchell-11.2 ov), 4-125 (Tim Seifert-15.1 ov), 5-137 (Glenn Phillips-16.3 ov), 6-140 (James Neesham-17.6 ov)

India: 155-3 (17.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-117 (KL Rahul-13.2 ov), 2-135 (Rohit Sharma-15.3 ov), 3-137 (Suryakumar Yadav-15.6 ov)

Result: India won by seven wickets


Playing XI

India - KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel

New Zealand - Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee (captain), Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

Match Details

Toss: India won the toss, decided to field

Start Time: 13:30 hrs GMT

Venue: JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi

Match Officials: Anil Chaudhary, Jayaraman Madanagopal (On-field Umpires); Karumanaseri Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)