< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v NZ 2nd T20I: India levels series in tense chase

Yuzvendra Chahal bowled the fourth over of the innings and started with a wicket maiden
Yuzvendra Chahal bowled the fourth over of the innings and started with a wicket maiden

India levelled the three-match T20I series with a hard-fought six-wicket win in the second game at Lucknow on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, New Zealand made 99 for eight in their 20 overs and in response India finished on 101 for four in 19.5 overs.

Earlier, New Zealand made a sedate start as their openers Devon Conway and Finn Allen added 21. Then there was a regular fall of wickets as New Zealand slipped to 60 for five. From there on there was no recovery as the middle and late order slipped without any fight. The innings got no momentum whatsoever. Only skipper Mitchell Santner showed some resistance as he finished unbeaten on 19 off 23 balls. Towards the end New Zealand finished on 99 for eight in their 20 overs. For India the most successful bowler was Arshdeep Singh (2-7).

In their response, India started slowly as they lost their opener Shubman Gill cheaply. Then there was a 29 run second wicket stand between Ishan Kishan and Rahul Tripathi. Then Washington Sundar teamed up with Suryakumar Yadav to add 20 runs for the fourth wicket. Skipper Hardik Pandya put on an unbroken 31 runs for the fifth wicket. India finished on 101 for four in 19.5 overs. The final game will be played on Wednesday, 1 February in Ahmedabad. 

Match Summary
New Zealand: 99-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Finn Allen-3.3 ov), 2-28 (Devon Conway-4.4 ov), 3-35 (Glenn Phillips-6.5 ov), 4-48 (Daryl Mitchell-9.6 ov), 5-60 (Mark Chapman-12.4 ov), 6-80 (Michael Bracewell-16.6 ov), 7-83 (Ish Sodhi-17.4 ov), 8-83 (Lockie Ferguson-17.6 ov)

India: 101-4 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Shubman Gill-3.5 ov), 2-46 (Ishan Kishan-8.5 ov), 3-50 (Rahul Tripathi-10.4 ov), 4-70 (Washington Sundar-14.3 ov)


Playing XI
India: Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (captain), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner (captain), Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Jacob Duffy, Blair Tickner

Match Details
Toss: New Zealand, elected to bat
Venue: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Start time: 1230 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2023