< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v NZ 2nd Test Day 2: Patel claims all 10; New Zealand in a spin

India Celebrate
India Celebrate

Md. Siraj addressed a virtual press conference after Day 2 of the second Test against New Zealand


India took complete control of the second and final Test against New Zealand at the Wankhede Stadium on the second day of the match on a record-breaking day.

India got bowled out for 325 thanks to Ajaz Patel's feat of taking 10 wickets in an innings. In their response New Zealand was shot out for a mere 62 and in their reply India ended the day 332 runs ahead with the score reading 69 for no los.

Earlier, India began at their overnight score of 221 for four. Wriddhiman Saha was the first to go. Then there was a 67 run stand for the seventh wicket between Mayank Agarwal and Axar Patel. This pair consolidated the hold of India on the Test. Agarwal was the next to go at 291 for seven. Agarwal finished on 150 off 311 balls with 17 boundaries and four sixes. Patel continued to take charge of the innings. Patel finally fell for 52 off 128 balls with five boundaries and a six. India's innings finally folded up for 325 in 109.5 overs. The destroyer-in-chief for New Zealand was Ajaz Patel, the Mumbai born left-arm spinner. Patel claimed all 10 wickets in the Indian innings and became the third man in Test history to claim all the wickets. The other two to do so were Jim Laker of England and India's Anil Kumble. Patel finished with figures of 10 for 119.

In their response, New Zealand's top-order was rocked early on by Mohammed Siraj. Thereafter the spinners Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel and Jayant Yadav took over. The trio spun a web around New Zealand batting. None of the New Zealand batters offered any kind of resistance to the spin bowlers. For India the key wicket-takers were Ashwin (4-8), Siraj (3-19) and Patel (2-14). New Zealand was shot out for a mere 62.

Armed with a 263 run lead, India opted not to enforce follow-on. With their regular opener Shubman Gill getting injured while fielding, India opted to open with Cheteshwar Pujara along side Mayank Agarwal.

India ended the second day's play with the score of 69 for no loss. Agarwal finished unbeaten on 38 with Pujara giving him company on 29.

India took complete control of the second and final Test against New Zealand at the Wankhede Stadium on the second day of the match on a record-breaking day.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 325 (109.5)
Fall of wickets: 5-224 (Wriddhiman Saha-71.4 ov), 6-224 (Ravichandran Ashwin-71.5 ov), 7-291 (Mayank Agarwal-99.5 ov), 8-316 (Axar Patel-107.5 ov), 9-321 (Jayant Yadav-109.2 ov), 10-325 (Mohammed Siraj-109.5 ov)

New Zealand 1st Innings: 62 (28.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Will Young,-3.1 ov), 2-15 (Tom Latham-3.6 ov), 3-17 (Ross Taylor-5.1 ov), 4-27 (Daryl Mitchell-8.1 ov), 5-31 (Henry Nicholls-13.1 ov), 6-38 (Rachin Ravindra-16.4 ov), 7-53 (Tom Blundell-19.4 ov), 8-53 (Tim Southee-19.6 ov), 9-62 (William Somerville-27.5 ov), 10-62 (Kyle Jamieson-28.1 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 69-0 (21)

End of Day Two: India leads by 332 runs


Playing XIs
India: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Will Young, Tom Latham (captain), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Will Somerville, Ajaz Patel

Match details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)