< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v NZ 2nd Test Day 4: Yadav, Ashwin spin India to a massive win

Jayant Yadav bowled a brilliant spell
India and New Zealand sides exchange greetings

India registered a massive 372 run win over New Zealand in the second and final Test at the Wankhede Stadium on Monday to win the two-match series 1-0. This was 14th consecutive series win at home since 2013.

Resuming at their overnight score of 140 for five, New Zealand was dismissed in just 45 minutes on the fourth day for 167.

Earlier, Rachin Ravindra started off confidently, striking a few boundaries. But it did not last long as Ravindra was dismissed by Jayant Yadav.

Once Ravindra was dismissed floodgates were opened as New Zealand's lower-order did not have any clue against the Indian spin. Kyle Jamieson and Tim Southee were dismissed in the same over. Then it was only a question of time as Yadav continued to mesmerise the batters. In the end Henry Nicholls lost patience and was dismissed stumped off 44 as Ravichandran Ashwin applied the finishing touches.

This was India's biggest ever win in Test cricket in terms of runs.

For India the best bowlers were Ashwin (4-34) and Yadav (4-49).

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 325 (109.5)
New Zealand 1st Innings: 62 (28.1)
India 2nd Innings: 276-7 decl (70)

New Zeland: 167 (56.3)
Fall of wickets: 6-162 (Rachin Ravindra-51.5 ov), 7-165 (Kyle Jamieson-53.2 ov), 8-165 (Tim Southee-53.4 ov), 9-167 (William Somerville-55.1 ov), 10-167 (Henry Nicholls-56.3 ov)

Result: India won by 372 runs, win series 1-0


Playing XIs

India: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Will Young, Tom Latham (captain), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Will Somerville, Ajaz Patel

Match details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)