< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v NZ 3rd ODI: India completes another ODI whitewash

Blazing centuries from skipper Rohit Sharma and fellow opener Shubman Gill took India to a formidable 385-9
Blazing centuries from skipper Rohit Sharma and fellow opener Shubman Gill took India to a formidable 385-9

India completed yet another whitewash in an ODI series as they beat New Zealand by 90 runs in the third and final ODI at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore to win the series 3-0 on Tuesday.

After being asked to bat India posted 385 for nine in their 50 overs and in response New Zealand finished on 295 in 41.2 overs.

Earlier, India openers captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill added 212 runs in 26.1 overs. Sharma struck his 30th ODI century as he made 101 off 85 balls with nine boundaries and six sixes. Gill ended on 112 off 78 balls with 13 boundaries and five sixes. But after that India lost wickets in a heap. India slipped from 212 for no loss to 293 for five in 38.4 overs. Thereafter, Hardik Pandya held the lower order together. He added 54 runs for the seventh wicket with Shardul Thakur. Pandya finished on 54 off 38 balls with three boundaries and three sixes. India finished on 385 for nine in their 50 overs. For New Zealand the successful bowlers were Blair Tickner (3-76) and Jacob Duffy (3-100).

New Zealand were well served by a second wicket stand worth 106 runs between Devon Conway and Henry Nicholls. Conway finished on 138 off 100 balls with 12 boundaries and eight sixes. But thereafter wickets fell at regular intervals. There was a 78 run third wicket stand between Daryl Mitchell and Nicholls. Then the middle and lower-order did fight valiantly but it was not enough. In the end New Zealand was bowled out for 295 in 41.2 overs. For India the wicket-takers were Shardul Thakur (3-45), Kuldeep Yadav (3-62) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2-43).

The two sides will now meet in a three-match T20I series from 27 January. 

Match Summary
India: 385-9 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-212 (Rohit Sharma-26.1 ov), 2-230 (Shubman Gill-27.6 ov), 3-268 (Ishan Kishan-34.3 ov), 4-284 (Virat Kohli-36.2 ov), 5-293 (Suryakumar Yadav-38.4 ov), 6-313 (Washington Sundar-42.2 ov), 7-367 (Shardul Thakur-47.6 ov), 8-379 (Hardik Pandya-48.4 ov), 9-385 (Kuldeep Yadav-49.6 ov)

New Zealand: 295 (41.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Finn Allen-0.2 ov), 2-106 (Henry Nicholls-14.5 ov), 3-184 (Daryl Mitchell-25.1 ov), 4-184 (Tom Latham-25.2 ov), 5-200 (Glenn Phillips-27.4 ov), 6-230 (Devon Conway-31.4 ov), 7-269 (Michael Bracewell-36.1 ov), 8-279 (Lockie Ferguson-38.5 ov), 9-280 (Jacob Duffy-39.4 ov), 10-295 (Mitchell Santner-41.2 ov)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (captain & wicket-keeper), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Jacob Duffy, Blair Tickner   

Match Details
Toss: New Zealand, elected to field
Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023