< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v SL 1st T20I: Hooda, Mavi star as India take lead in T20I series

India's Deepak Hooda
India's Deepak Hooda plays a shot as he helps steer India to 162-5 in the opening T20 against Sri Lanka

Deepak Hooda addressed a press conference after the 1st T20I against Sri Lanka in Mumbai


India started off the new year with a narrow two-run win over Sri Lanka in the first T20 International at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday. India now leads the three-match series 1-0.

Earlier, asked to bat India posted 162 for five in their 20 overs and in response Sri Lanka was bowled out for 160 in 20 overs.

India earlier started off well but lost wickets in a heap. India was reduced to 46 for three. Then Ishan Kishan added 31 runs for the fourth wicket with captain Hardik Pandya. Then Kishan and Pandya fell in quick succession. Soon Deepak Hooda took charge of the innings as he added an unbeaten 68 runs for the sixth wicket with Axar Patel. Hooda finished on an unbeaten 41 off 23 balls with one boundary and four sixes. Patel ended on an unbeaten 31 off 20 balls with three boundaries and a six. India finished on 162 for five in their 20 overs.

In their response, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals. Sri Lanka slipped to 51 for four and then to 68 for five. Captain Dasun Shanaka added 40 runs for the sixth wicket with Wanindu Hasaranga. Then after Shanaka fell with the score on 129, Sri Lanka slipped further. But Chamika Karunaratne held firm as he struck some lusty blows and brought it down to four off the last ball of the innings. In the end Sri Lanka was bowled out for 160 in 20 overs. For India the best bowlers were Shivam Mavi (4-22), Umran Malik (2-27) and Harshal Patel (2-41).

The next game will be played at the MCA Stadium in Pune on 5 January 2023.

 Match Summary
India: 162-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Shubman Gill-2.3 ov), 2-38 (Suryakumar Yadav-5.1 ov), 3-46 (Sanju Samson-6.5 ov), 4-77 (Ishan Kishan-10.3 ov), 5-94 (Hardik Pandya-14.1 ov) 

Sri Lanka: 160 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Pathum Nissanka-1.5 ov), 2-24 (Dhananjaya de Silva-3.5 ov), 3-47 (Charith Asalanka-7.5 ov), 4-51 (Kusal Mendis-8.2 ov), 5-68 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-10.4 ov), 6-108 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-14.3 ov), 7-129 (Dasun Shanaka-16.4 ov), 8-132 (Maheesh Theekshana-17.4 ov), 9-159 (Kasun Rajitha-19.5 ov), 10-160 (Dilshan Madushanka-19.6 ov)


Playing XIs:
India: Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya (captain), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

Match Details
Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1230 hrs GMT
Match Officials: Anil Chaudhary, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Rohan Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023