< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v SL 1st Test Day 1: Pant, Jadeja make it India's day

Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant were tremendous with the bat

India ended first day of the first Test against Sri Lanka with a commanding performance at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Friday.

India ended the day at 357 for six after opting to bat in the 85 overs of play that was possible during the day.

Earlier, India got off to a brisk start with Mayank Agarwal and captain Rohit Sharma putting on 52. After skipper Sharma fell first, then Agarwal fell soon after for 33. Thereafter a 90 run stand for the third wicket between number three Hanuma Vihari and former Virat Kohli helped revive the innings. But after Kohli fell shortly after scoring his 8000th Test run in his 100th Test mtch. Vihari fell soon after for 58 off 128 balls with five boundaries. It took a fantastic 104 run sixth wicket stand between Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja to seal the deal for the home team. Pant fell late in the day for 96 off 97 balls with nine boundaries and four sixes. At the end of the day, Jadeja was still unbeaten on 45 with Ravichandran Ashwin. India finished on 357 for six.

For Sri Lanka the best bowler was left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya (2-107).

Earlier, Kohli was felicitated for his 100th Test appearance, which also happens to be Sri Lanka's 300th Test match.

Match Summary
India: 357-6 (85)
Fall of wickets: 1-52 (Rohit Sharma-9.5 ov), 2-80 (Mayank Agarwal-18.3 ov), 3-170 (Virat Kohli-43.3 ov), 4-175 (Hanuma Vihari-46.3 ov), 5-228 (Shreyas Iyer-61.1 ov), 6-332 (Rishabh Pant-80.5 ov)


End of Day One: India finish on 357 for six

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Pathum Nissanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella (wicket-keeper), Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)