< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v SL 1st Test Day 2: Jadeja, Ashwin help India take control

India took complete control of the first Test against Sri Lanka with a commanding performance with both bat and ball on the second day at the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali.

On Saturday, India resumed at their overnight score of 357 for six as they pushed ahead to make 574 for eight declared. In their response, Sri Lanka were struggling at 108 for four when stumps were drawn.

Earlier, India's overnight pair of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin carried the score forward. The pair added 130 runs for the seventh wicket as India took complete control of the Test. Ashwin was dismissed shortly before lunch for 61 off 82 balls with eight boundaries. Shortly thereafter Jayant Yadav was dismissed cheaply. Jadeja then took control of the innings as he added 103 runs for the ninth wicket with Mohammed Shami.

Jadeja finally finished unbeaten on 175 off 228 balls with 17 boundaries and three sixes. India declared with the innings sore at 574 for eight in 129.2 overs.

For Sri Lanka the wicket-takers were Suranga Lakmal (2-90), Vishwa Fernando (2-135) and Lasith Embuldeniya (2-188).

In their response, Sri Lanka started confidently with captain Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne adding 48 runs. Then both openers left in quick succession. Thereafter, Angelo Mathews and Pathum Nissanka added 37 runs for the third wicket. Late in the day Mathews and Charith Asalanka fell in quick succession as Sri Lanka finished on 108 for four.

For India the most successful bowler was Ashwin (2-21).

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 574-8 (129.2)
Fall of wickets: 7-462 (Ravichandran Ashwin-109.4 ov), 8-471 (Jayant Yadav-113.6 ov)

Sri Lanka 1st Innings: 108-4 (43)
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Lahiru Thirimanne-18.2 ov), 2-59 (Dimuth Karunaratne-24.2 ov), 3-96 (Angelo Mathews-33.6 ov), 4-103 (Dhananjaya de Silva-38.1 ov)


End of Day Two: Sri Lanka trail by 466 runs

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Pathum Nissanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella (wicket-keeper), Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)