< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v SL 2nd Test Day 2: Sri Lanka faces uphill task in second Test

India set a formidable target of 447 for Sri Lanka to try and level in the second and final Test at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

On Sunday which was the second day of the Test, India bowled out Sri Lanka for a mere 109 in their first innings. This handed India a massive 143 run lead. In response India posted 303 for nine declared and when stumps were drawn Sri Lanka were 28 for one.

Earlier, Sri Lanka lost their last four wickets in their first innings for a mere 23 runs. The tail was wiped out by Jasprit Bumrah and Ravichandran Ashwin. Bumrah ended with his first five-wicket haul on Indian soil as he finished with figures of five for 24. Ashwin (2-30) and Mohammed Shami (2-18) were the other wicket-takers.

In their second innings, India got off to a great start with their openers Mayank Agarwal and captain Rohit Sharma. After Agarwal's fall, Sharma and Hanuma Vihari added 56 runs for the second wicket. Sharma fell for 46 off 79 balls with four boundaries. Virat Kohli fell cheaply again which brought his average down below 50 for the first time since 2017.

Rishabh Pant (50: 31b, 7x4, 2x6) and Shreyas Iyer added 45 runs for the fifth wicket. Iyer held the Indian innings together as he finished on 67 off 87 balls with nine boundaries. Iyer shared crucial stands with Ravindra Jadeja and Ashwin.

Towards the end India ended on a high to finish on 303 for nine with an overall lead of 446.

For Sri Lanka the two main wicket-takers were Praveen Jayawickrama (4-78) and Lasith Emuldeniya (3-87).

In their chase, Sri Lanka lost Lahiru Thirimanne cheaply in the very first over. Towards the end Sri Lanka finished on 28 for one in seven overs.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 252 (59.1)
Sri Lanka 1st Innings: 109
Fall of wickets: 7-95 (Lasith Embuldeniya-32.2 ov), 8-100 (Suranga Lakmal-33.6 ov), 9-100 (Niroshan Dickwella-34.2 ov), 10-109 (Vishwa Fernando-35.5 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 303-9 decl (68.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Mayank Agarwal-10.4 ov), 2-98 (Rohit Sharma-30.2 ov), 3-116 (Hanuma Vihari-33.1 ov), 4-139 (Virat Kohli-35.4 ov), 5-184 (Rishabh Pant-41.6 ov), 6-247 (Ravindra Jadeja-58.5 ov), 7-278 (Ravichandran Ashwin-65.4 ov), 8-278 (Shreyas Iyer-66.1 ov), 9-303 (Axar Patel-68.5 ov)

Sri Lanka 2nd Innings: 28-1 (7)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Lahiru Thirimanne-0.3 ov)

End of Day Two: Sri Lanka needs 419 more runs for a win


Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (captain)Mayank AgarwalHanuma VihariVirat KohliRishabh Pant (wicket-keeper)Shreyas IyerRavindra JadejaRavichandran AshwinAxar PatelMohammed ShamiJasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain)Lahiru ThirimanneKusal MendisAngelo MathewsDhananjaya de SilvaCharith AsalankaNiroshan Dickwella (wicket-keeper)Suranga LakmalLasith EmbuldeniyaVishwa FernandoPraveen Jayawickrama

Match Details

Start Time: 08:30 hrs GMT

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Match Officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022