< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v SL 3rd ODI: Kohli special leads India to biggest win in ODI history

Virat Kohli celebrates his century
Virat Kohli celebrates his century

India registered the biggest victory in the history of ODI cricket as they beat Sri Lanka by 317 runs at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Sunday in the third and final ODI to complete a 3-0 series whitewash.

After opting to bat, India posted 390 for five in their 50 overs and in their response Sri Lanka was bowled out for 73 in 22 overs.

Earlier, India started off well with their openers captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill putting on 95 for the first wicket. From thereon, Gill added a further 131 runs for the second wicket with Virat Kohli. Gill made 116 off 97 balls with 14 boundaries and two sixes. From thereon, Kohli carried forward the innings as he added 108 runs for the third wicket with Shreyas Iyer. Kohli finished unbeaten on 166 off 110 balls with 13 boundaries and eight sixes. In the end India finished on a massive 390 for five in their 50 overs.

In their response Sri Lanka were never in the contest. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals. They lost their completely as they went from 22 for one to 39 for six. In the end they were bowled out for a mere 73 in 22 overs. Ashen Bandara could not bat as he collided with Jeffrey Vandersay while fielding. For India the best bowlers were Mohammed Siraj (4-32), Mohammed Shami (2-20) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-16). 

Match Summary
India: 390-5 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-95 (Rohit Sharma-15.2 ov), 2-226 (Shubman Gill-33.4 ov), 3-334 (Shreyas Iyer-45.3 ov), 4-364 (KL Rahul-47.5 ov), 5-370 (Suryakumar Yadav-48.4 ov)

Sri Lanka: 73 (22)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Avishka Fernando-1.5 ov), 2-22 (Kusal Mendis-3.6 ov), 3-31 (Charith Asalanka-6.3 ov), 4-35 (Nuwanidu Fernando-7.3 ov), 5-37 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-9.3 ov), 6-39 (Chamika Karunaratne-11.4 ov), 7-50 (Dasun Shanaka-14.6 ov), 8-51 (Dunith Wellalage-15.4 ov), 9-73 (Lahiru Kumara-21.6 ov)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Ashen Bandara, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananathapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023