< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v SL 3rd T20I: SKY is the limit as India seals series

Suryakumar Yadav smashed an unbeaten 112 off 51 balls to fire India to 228-5
Suryakumar Yadav smashed an unbeaten 112 off 51 balls to fire India to 228-5

India maintained its proud bilateral series record at home as they beat Sri Lanka by a whopping 91 runs in the third and final T20I at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium at Rajkot on Saturday. India won the series 2-1.

After opting to bat, India posted 228 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Sri Lanka were bowled out for 137 in 16.4 overs.

Earlier India was well served by a 49 run second wicket stand between Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi. Then Gill added a further 111 runs for the third wicket with Suryakumar Yadav. Then Yadav took charge of the innings as he made his third T20I hundred in less than a year. He remained unbeaten on 112 off 51 balls with seven boundaries and nine sixes. In the end India finished on 228 for five in their 20 overs. For Sri Lanka the most successful bowler was Dilshan Madushanka (2-55).

In their response, Sri Lanka started off well as their openers Kusal Mendis and Pathum Nissanka added 44 runs. Then there was a collapse as they were reduced to 51 for three. Thereafter, there was a steady fall of wickets. Skipper Dasun Shanaka hung around a while, but it was not enough. He ran out of partners. In the end it was one-way traffic as India kept chipping away. Sri Lanka was finally bowled out for 137 in 16.4 overs. For India the best bowlers were Arshdeep Singh (3-20), Hardik Pandya (2-30), Umran Malik (2-31) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2-30).

The two sides will now move to Guwahati to play the three-match ODI series. 

Match Summary
India: 228-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Ishan Kishan-0.4 ov), 2-52 (Rahul Tripathi-5.5 ov), 3-163 (Shubman Gill-14.4 ov), 4-174 (Hardik Pandya-15.5 ov), 5-189 (Deepak Hooda-16.4 ov)

Sri Lanka: 137 (16.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Kusal Mendis-4.5 ov), 2-44 (Pathum Nissanka-5.3 ov), 3-51 (Avishka Fernando-6.1 ov), 4-84 (Charith Asalanka-9.3 ov), 5-96 (Dhananjaya de Silva-11.2 ov), 6-107 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-12.6 ov), 7-123 (Chamika Karunaratne-14.3 ov), 8-127 (Maheesh Theekshana-15.3 ov), 9-135 (Dasun Shanaka-16.1 ov), 10-137 (Dilshan Madushanka-16.4 ov)


Playing XI
India: Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (captain), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
Start time: 1230 hrs GMT
Match Officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon (On-field umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Rohan Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023