< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v SA 5th T20I: Rains plays spoilsport in series decider

India v South Africa, 5th T20I: Abandoned due to rain
India v South Africa, 5th T20I: Abandoned due to rain

The fifth and final T20I between India and South Africa at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru had to be abandoned due to rain. The five-match series ended 2-2, with South Africa retaining their proud unbeaten white ball bilateral series record in India since 2011.

Overall, only 21 balls were bowled in the fifth T20I with India struggling at 28 for two after 3.3 overs when rain played spoilsport. India was asked to bat after South Africa won the toss.

The start of the game was delayed by 50 minutes because of rains. When play started, India opener Ishan Kishan struck two sixes off South Africa’s stand-in captain Keshav Maharaj in the first over. Kishan was dismissed by Lungi Ngidi.

Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad was the next scalp of Ngidi as he was dismissed by a slower delivery. Captain Rishabh Pant was on one and Shreyas Iyer was yet to open his account when rain played spoilsport in the fourth over.

South Africa made three changes to their XI with regular captain Temba Bavuma being omitted owing to an elbow injury. Reeza Hendricks, Tristan Stubbs and Kagiso Rabada came into the XI. Also going out were Tabraiz Shamsi and Marco Jansen.

The cut-off time for a five-over game was 10:02 pm, but the play was finally called off at 9:37 pm India time.

Match Summary
India: 28-2 (3.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Ishan Kishan-1.6 ov), 2-27 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-3.2 ov)

Result: Match Abandoned


Playing XIs
India: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper & captain), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj (captain), Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi

Match details
Toss: South Africa, elected to field
Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Start time: 1430 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022