< >
Cricket Betting us

India v WI 1st T20I: Bishnoi stars in India win on debut

India took a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series against West Indies with a fine six-wicket win in the opening game at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

On Wednesday West Indies after being asked to bat were restricted to 157 for seven in their 20 overs. In response, India chased down the target in 18.5 overs to finish on 162 for four.

Earlier, West Indies were well-served by a 47 run stand for the second wicket between Kyle Mayers and Nicholas Pooran. There was a middle-order collapse as West Indies were reduced to 90 for five. Pooran then added 45 runs for the sixth wicket with captain Kieron Pollard. Pooran was finally dismissed for 61 off 42 balls with four boundaries and five sixes. Pollard finished unbeaten on 24 off 19 balls.

For India the best wicket-takers were Harshal Patel (2-37) and Ravi Bishnoi (2-17).

In their response, India started off with captain Rohit Sharma teeing off. Sharma added 64 for the opening wicket with Ishan Kishan. Sharma made 40 off 19 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Kishan struggled to make 35 off 42 balls with four boundaries. India slipped to 114 for four, but a 48 run fourth wicket stand between Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer sealed the deal. Yadav finished unbeaten on 34 off 18 balls with five boundaries and a six, while Iyer ended on 24 off 13 balls with two boundaries and a six.

For West Indies the best bowler was Roston Chase (2-14).

The second T20 International will be played on 18 February 2022 also at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Match Summary

West Indies: 157-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Brandon King, 0.5 ov), 2-51 (Kyle Mayers, 6.5 ov), 3-72 (Roston Chase, 10.2 ov), 4-74 (Rovman Powell, 10.5 ov), 5-90 (Akeal Hosein, 13.5 ov), 6-135 (Nicholas Pooran, 17.6 ov), 7-157 (Odean Smith, 19.6 ov)

India: 162-4 (18.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Rohit Sharma-7.3 ov), 2-93 (Ishan Kishan-11.6 ov), 3-95 (Virat Kohli-12.3 ov), 4-114 (Rishabh Pant-14.3 ov)


Result: India won by four wickets, lead three-match series 1-0

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal

West Indies: Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Rovman Powell, Kieron Pollard (captain), Roston Chase, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Akeal Hosein

Match details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Start time: 1900 hrs India time
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Virender SHarma (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)