< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v WI 2nd ODI: India seal the ODI series with top bowling show

India sealed the ODI series against West Indies with an impressive 44 run win in the second ODI on Wednesday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

India after being asked to bat first posted 237 for nine in their 50 overs and in their response West Indies was restricted to 193 in 46 overs.

Earlier, India were struggling at 43 for three after losing Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Virat Kohli.

Lokesh Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav then repaired the innings with a 91 run stand for the fourth wicket. Rahul fell for 49 in a bizarre run-out which slowed down India's progress. Yadav then took charge. Yadav added a further 43 runs for the fifth wicket with Washington Sundar. Yadav fell for 64 off 83 balls with five boundaries.

Towards the end Deepak Hooda took charge for the Indian line-up as he rallied the tail. India finally finished on 237 for nine in their 50 overs.

For West Indies the key wicket-takers were Odean Smith (2-29) and Alzarri Joseph (2-36).

For West Indies started off well. But once again the top-order was dismantled quickly. Prasidh Krsihna bowled with pace and bounce as he rattled the top-order of West Indies.

West Indies were struggling at 52 for three and then lost wickets at regular intervals. West Indies were struggling at 76 for five. Then Shamarah Brooks (44) and Akeal Hosein added 41 runs for the sixth wicket. Then Hosein allied with Fabian Allen as West Indies continued to fight hard. In the end Smith used the long handle to good effect but it was little too late. West Indies were finally bowled out for 193 in 46 overs.

Prasidh Krishna, Member, Indian Cricket Team, addressed the post-match virtual press conference after the 2nd Paytm ODI against the West Indies at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on Wednesday, 9th February.


For India, the key wicket-takers were Krishna (4-12) and Shardul Thakur (2-41).

West Indies and India made one change to their playing XIs for the second game. West Indies captain Kieron Pollard was replaced by Smith, while India brought back Lokesh Rahul for Ishan Kishan.

The third and final ODI will be played on Friday, February 11.

Match Summary

India: 237-9 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Rohit Sharma-2.6 ov), 2-39 (Rishabh Pant-11.1 ov), 3-43 (Virat Kohli-11.6 ov), 4-134 (KL Rahul-29.4 ov), 5-177 (Suryakumar Yadav-38.5 ov), 6-192 (Washington Sundar-41.6 ov), 7-212 (Shardul Thakur-45.6 ov), 8-224 (Mohammed Siraj-47.3 ov), 9-226 (Deepak Hooda-48.1 ov)

West Indies: 193 (46)
Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Brandon King-7.3 ov), 2-38 (Darren Bravo-9.1 ov), 3-52 (Shai Hope-16.2 ov), 4-66 (Nicholas Pooran-19.4 ov), 5-76 (Jason Holder-21.6 ov), 6-117 (Shamarh Brooks-30.5 ov), 7-159 (Fabian Allen-38.5 ov), 8-159 (Akeal Hosein-39.2 ov), 9-193 (Odean Smith-44.6 ov), 10-193 (Kemar Roach-45.6 ov)

Result - India won by 44 runs, lead three-match ODI series 2-0 


Playing XI

West Indies: Shai Hope (wicket-keeper), Brandon King, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Fabian Allen, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

Match details

Toss: West Indies, elected to field

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Start time: 1330 India time

Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022