< >
Cricket Betting us

India v WI 3rd ODI: India make a clean sweep against sorry West Indies

India made a clean sweep of the three-match ODI series against West Indies with a comprehensive 96 run win in the final game on Friday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

India batted first and were bowled out for 265 in their 50 overs. In response West Indies were shot out for 169 in 37.1 overs to hand India a series whitewash.

Earlier, India lost their top-order quite cheaply as they were reduced to 42 for three. It required a fine 110 run stand for the fourth wicket between Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant to revive the innings. Pant finally fell for 56 off 54 balls with six boundaries and a six. Iyer on the other hand made 80 off 111 balls with nine boundaries as he held the innings together. Towards the later half of the innings, Deepak Chahar (38) and Washington Sundar (33) puton 53 for the seventh wicket. In the end India was finally bowled out for 265 off the final delivery of the innings.

For West Indies the best bowlers were Jason Holder (4-34), Alzarri Joseph (2-54) and Hayden Walsh (2-59).

In their response, West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals as they just could not get going. They were reduced to 25 for three. Then Darren Bravo and captain Nicholas Pooran shared a 43 run stand for the fourth wicket. Thereafter, there was another collapse as West Indies slipped to 82 for seven in the 19th over.

Odean Smith (36) and Alzarri Joseph used the long handle to good effect as they added 40 runs for the eighth wicket. Then Joseph put on 47 runs for the ninth wicket with Walsh. The end was swift in the end as West Indies were bowled out for 169 in 37.1 overs. For India the best bowlers were Mohammed Siraj (3-29), Prasidh Krishna (3-27), Deepak Chahar (2-41) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-51).

Iyer was named player of the match, whereas Krishna walked away with the player of the series award.

Earlier India made four changes to their XI bringing back Shikhar Dhawan, Iyer, Chahar and Yadav in place of KL Rahul, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal and Deepak Hooda.

The two sides will now play a three match T20I series which gets underway on 16 February in Kolkata.

Rohit Sharma addressed the post-match virtual press conference after the 3rd and final Paytm ODI against the West Indies


Match Summary

India: 265 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Rohit Sharma-3.3 ov), 2-16 (Virat Kohli-3.5 ov), 3-42 (Shikhar Dhawan-9.3 ov), 4-152 (Rishabh Pant-29.6 ov), 5-164 (Suryakumar Yadav-32.3 ov), 6-187 (Shreyas Iyer-37.1 ov), 7-240 (Deepak Chahar-45.4 ov), 8-250 (Kuldeep Yadav-47.4 ov), 9-261 (Washington Sundar-49.4 ov), 10-265 (Mohammed Siraj-49.6 ov)

West Indies: 169 (37.1)

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Shai Hope-3.2 ov), 2-25 (Brandon King-4.3 ov), 3-25 (Shamarh Brooks-4.6 ov), 4-68 (Darren Bravo-13.1 ov), 5-76 (Jason Holder-15.6 ov), 6-77 (Fabian Allen-16.2 ov), 7-82 (Nicholas Pooran-18.3 ov), 8-122 (Odean Smith-23.3 ov), 9-169 (Hayden Walsh-36.2 ov), 10-169 (Alzarri Joseph-37.1 ov)

Result: India win by 96 runs, win series 3-0

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

West Indies: Shai Hope (wicket-keeper), Brandon King, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Hayden Walsh, Kemar Roach

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 1330 hrs India time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)