< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India v WI 3rd T20I: India complete a fine clean sweep

India completed a fine clean sweep of their three-match T20I series against West Indies with a 17-run win in the final game.

Match Summary

India: 184-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-2.3 ov), 2-63 (Shreyas Iyer-8.3 ov), 3-66 (Ishan Kishan-9.4 ov), 4-93 (Rohit Sharma-13.5 ov), 5-184 (Suryakumar Yadav-19.6 ov)

West Indies: 167-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Kyle Mayers-0.5 ov), 2-26 (Shai Hope-2.4 ov), 3-73 (Rovman Powell-6.5 ov), 4-82 (Kieron Pollard-8.3 ov), 5-87 (Jason Holder-10.2 ov), 6-100 (Roston Chase-11.5 ov), 7-148 (Nicholas Pooran-17.1 ov), 8-158 (Romario Shepherd-18.5 ov), 9-166 (Dominic Drakes-19.3 ov)

Result: India won by 17 runs, win series 3-0


At the Eden Gardens on Sunday, India after being asked to bat posted 184 for five in 20 overs. In their response, West Indies were restricted to 167 for nine in their 20 overs.

Earlier, India lost an opening wicket. Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer shared a 53 run second wicket stand. India was struggling at 93 for four in 13.5 overs. Later, Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer added 91 run fifth wicket stand. Yadav finished on 65 off 31 balls with one boundary and seven sixes. Iyer finished unbeaten on 35 off 19 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. For West Indies the bowlers shared the wickets around.

In their response, West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals. Rovman Powell shared a swift 47 run stand for the third wicket with Nicholas Pooran. In fact Pooran held the innings together with a 47 ball 61 with eight boundaries and a six. The other batters just did not step up. Pooran then shared a 48 run seventh wicket stand with Romario Shepherd. Towards the end West Indies ended on 167 for nine in their 20 overs.

For India wicket-takers were Harshal Patel (3-22), Sharul Thakur (2-33), Venkatesh Iyer (2-23) and Deepak Chahar (2-15).

Both sides made four changes to their playing XI for the final match. India brought in Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur and Avesh Khan. West Indies played Shai Hope, Fabian Allen, Dominic Drakes and Hayden Walsh for the final game on the tour.

Playing XIs

India: Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rohit Sharma (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan

West Indies: Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Rovman Powell, Roston Chase, Kieron Pollard (captain), Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh, Dominic Drakes

Match Details

Toss: West Indies, elected to field
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Start time: 1900 hrs India time
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022