< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs Aus 1st Test Day 2: Sharma, Jadeja, Axar propel India forward

India's captain Rohit Sharma plays a shot during the second day of the first Test
India's captain Rohit Sharma plays a shot during the second day of the first Test

India took control of the first Test against Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy as they claimed a vital 144-run lead on the second day at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Friday.

Resuming at their overnight score of 77 for one, India carried on to finish the second day at 321 for seven when stumps were drawn.

Earlier, India lost their overnight batter Ravichandran Ashwin early. Ashwin added 42 runs for the second wicket with captain Rohit Sharma. Then Cheteshwar Pujara fell soon after. Post lunch Virat Kohli fell cheaply. Debutant Suryakumar Yadav was dismissed cheaply too. Then Sharma added 68 runs for the sixth wicket with Ravindra Jadeja. Sharma made 120 off 212 balls with 15 boundaries and two sixes. Later, Jadeja added an unbroken 81 runs for the eighth wicket with Axar Patel. Jadeja remained unbeaten on 66 off 170 balls with nine boundaries, while Patel finished on 52 off 102 balls with eight boundaries. India finished on 321 for seven in 114 overs.

For Australia the main wicket-taker was debutant Todd Murphy who finished the day with figures of five for 82. 

Match Summary
Australia (1st Innings): 177 (63.5)

India (1st Innings): 321-7 (114)
Fall of wickets: 2-118 (Ravichandran Ashwin-40.1 ov), 3-135 (Cheteshwar Pujara- 44.1 ov), 4-151 (Virat Kohli-52.1 ov), 5-168 (Suryakumar Yadav-59.1 ov), 6-229 (Rohit Sharma-80.4 ov), 7-240 (Srikar Bharat-83.1 ov)


Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khwaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Matt Renshaw, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins (captain), Todd Murphy, Scott Boland, Nathan Lyon

Match Details
Toss: Australia, chose to bat
Venue: Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023