< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs Austraila, 3rd T20I: Kohli, Yadav special knocks seal series for India

India's Suryakumar Yadav scores a half century
India's Suryakumar Yadav scores a half century

India won the three-match T20I series against Australia with a six-wicket victory in the third and final match at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Uppal, Hyderabad on Sunday night.

Earlier, after being asked to bat Australia posted 186 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response India chased down the target with a ball to spare to finish on 187 for four in 19.5 overs.

Australia made a hectic start with Cameron Green striking well. Green made a brisk 52 off 21 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. Captain Aaron Finch was the first to go, but within the powerplay Australia had lost two wickets for 62. Then there was bit of a collapse as Australia four more wickets to be reduced to 117 for six in 13.5 overs. Towards the end Tim David struck lusty blows as he added 68 runs for the seventh wicket with Daniel Sams (28 no.). David finished on 54 off 27 balls with two boundaries and four sixes. For India the best bowler was Axar Patel (3-33).

In their chase India lost Lokesh Rahul cheaply. Then captain Rohit Sharma fell soon after for India to be reduced to 30 for two. Thereafter, India chase was revived by Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli. Yadav and Kohli added 104 runs for the third wicket. Yadav finished on 69 off 36 balls with five boundaries and five sixes. Then Kohli slowed down, but fell finally in the final over for 63 off 48 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. India needed five runs from four balls. Hardik Pandya struck a streaky boundary off the penultimate ball to seal the series for India. In the end India finished on 187 for four in 19.5 overs. Daniel Sams (2-33) was Australia's best bowler. 

Match Summary
Australia: 186-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Aaron Finch-3.3 ov), 2-62 (Cameron Green-4.6 ov), 3-75 (Glenn Maxwell-7.4 ov), 4-84 (Steven Smith-9.2 ov), 5-115 (Josh Inglis-13.1 ov), 6-117 (Matthew Wade-13.5 ov), 7-185 (Tim David-19.3 ov)

India: 187-4 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (KL Rahul-0.6 ov), 2-30 (Rohit Sharma-3.4 ov), 3-134 (Suryakumar Yadav-13.6 ov), 4-182 (Virat Kohli-19.2 ov)


Result: India won by six wickets; India won series 2-1  

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Josh Inglis, Daniel Sams, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Match Details
Toss: India, elect to field
Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World