< >
Cricket Betting us

India vs Australia, 2nd ODI, Australia tour of India: India seal series with all-round show in high-scoring tie

India posted a mammoth 399-5 in the first innings of the second one-day international against Australia
India posted a mammoth 399-5 in the first innings of the second one-day international against Australia

India was all over the Australians in the second game of the series that took place at Holkar Stadium in Indore. Asked to bat first, India posted a gigantic total of 399 for five. Due to rain, Australia’s target was revised to 317 runs in 33 overs. But they could get only 217 as India won the game by 99 runs to seal the series 2-0 with one match to go.

India had a poor start to their innings as Ruturaj Gaikwad in the fourth over of the innings for 16. But after that, the centre of the attraction was Shubman Gill (104:97b, 6x4, 4x4) and Shreyas Iyer (105:90b, 11x4, 3x6). The duo made Australian bowlers ;ppl clueless and added 200 runs for the second wicket that laid the platform for others. Skipper KL Rahul (52:38b, 3x3, 3x6) and Ishan Kishan (31:18b, 2x2, 2x6) played blistering cameos and stitched 59 runs for the fourth wicket. Before Suryakumar Yadav (72 n.o.:37b, 6x4, 6x6) played a blinder to power India’s total to the gigantic score of 399 for five. For Australia, Cameron Green picked two wickets but he was taken to the cleaners as he conceded 103 runs.

Chasing the target, Australia had a terrible start as Prasidh Krishna picked two wickets in the second over, removing Matthew Short and Steve Smith. However, after that David Warner (53:39b, 7x4, 1x6) and Marnus Labuschagne (27:31b, 4x4) steadied the innings with their 80-run stand for the third wicket. Ravichandran Ashwin (three for 43) and Ravindra Jadeja (three for 42) then wreaked havoc across the Australian batting line-up. They spun a web around the batters as they were reduced to 140 for eight. Josh Hazlewood (23:16b, 2x4, 2x6) and Sean Abbott (54:36b, 4x4, 5x6) then frustrated the Indian bowlers as they smashed them all over the park. The duo added 77 runs for the ninth wicket. But the bowlers held their nerves well and bundled out Australia for 217 to win the game by 99 runs. 

Match Summary
India: 399-5 (50 ov)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-3.4 ov), 2-216 (Shreyas Iyer-30.5 ov), 3-243 (Shubman Gill-34.5 ov), 4-302 (Ishan Kishan-40.2 ov), 5-355 (KL Rahul-45.6 ov)

Australia: 217 (28.2 ov)
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Matthew Short-1.2 ov), 2-9 (Steven Smith-1.3 ov), 3-89 (Marnus Labuschagne-12.5 ov), 4-100 (David Warner-14.1 ov), 5-101 (Josh Inglis-14.5 ov), 6-128 (Alex Carey-18.2 ov), 7-135 (Cameron Green-19.5 ov), 8-140 (Adam Zampa-20.4 ov), 9-217 (Josh Hazlewood-27.6 ov), 10-217 (Sean Abbott-28.2 ov)


Playing XIs
India: Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Shami

Australia: David Warner, Matthew Short, Steven Smith (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Spencer Johnson

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to field
Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Kumar Dharmasena (On-field Umpires); KN Anantha Padmanabhan (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023