< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs New Zealand, ICC World Test Championship Final Day 2: India placed comfortably

India reached a comfortable 146 for three at the end of a truncated second day's play in the World Test Championship final against New Zealand on Saturday at The Rose Bowl in Southampton.

India were asked to bat first under heavy cloudy conditions with floodlights being used for the major part of the day.

New Zealand bowlers tested India's openers for a major part of the day but they resisted temptation. India's openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill braved the conditions brilliantly as they put on 62 for the opening wicket. Sharma (34) was the first to fall caught brilliantly in the slip by Tim Southee off Kyle Jamieson. Gill (28) scratched around early on but then he held on during the opening stand. Gill was caught at the wicket by BJ Watling off Neil Wagner.

Then Cheteshwar Pujara got out for eight trapped right in front off Trent Boult. Then captain Virat Kohli (44 batting: 124b, 1x4) added 58 runs for an unbroken fourth wicket with his deputy Ajinkya Rahane (29 batting).

India did not make any changes to their playing XI, whereas New Zealand opted to play an all pace attack.

Play continued through the first session without any hassle. But towards the second session the trouble started with bad light forcing players to take early tea. Then post the tea session, play resumed again, but bad light forced players to come off a couple of times, before play was finally called off for the day.

The plan for the day was to have 98 overs to be bowled during the day with an extended second and third sessions with 15 minutes being added to both sessions.

Match Summary

India (1st Innings): 146-3 (64.4 ov)

Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Rohit Sharma-20.1 ov), 2-63 (Shubman Gill-24.3 ov), 3-88 (Cheteshwar Pujara-40.2 ov)


Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Match Details

Start Time: 10:30 am UK time

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Match Officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match Referee)

©Cricket World 2021