< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs New Zealand, ICC World Test Championship Final Day 4: Rain washes out play on Day 4

Play was called off on the fourth day of the ICC World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand at the Rose Bowl in Southampton, without a ball being ball bowled during the day's play.

Heavy overnight rains led to delay in start of play. But the rains just kept on persisting throughout the day which led to the first session being called off and an early lunch being taken.

The post lunch session showed signs of rains stopping for a bit, but the ground was too drenched and took long for the ground staff to clear the puddles of water.

Only handful of people turned up to watch as the wait got longer and longer.

Finally closer to the end of the scheduled second session, play was finally called off without a ball being bowled.

The first day's play had also ended on such a note. So we have lost two full days' play in the finale.

Play will now resume on Tuesday on what would be the scheduled fifth and final day at 1030 am UK time.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 217 (92.1 overs)

Fall of wickets: 4-149 (Virat Kohli-67.4 ov), 5-156 (Rishabh Pant-73.4 ov), 6-182 (Ajinkya Rahane-78.4 ov), 7-205 (Ravichandran Ashwin-85.5 ov), 8-213 (Ishant Sharma-91.4 ov), 9-213 (Jasprit Bumrah-91.5 ov), 10-217 (Ravindra Jadeja-92.1 ov)

New Zealand 1st Innings: 101-2 (49 overs)

Fall of wickets: 1-70 (Tom Latham-34.2 ov), 2-101 (Devon Conway-48.4 ov)

End of Day Four: Play abandoned without a ball being bowled out

Playing XI

India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain),  Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor,  Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson,  Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Match Details

Start Time: 10:30 am UK time

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Match Officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match Referee)