< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs New Zealand, ICC World Test Championship Final Day 5: See-saw battle in store on final day

India are 32 runs ahead at the end of an intriguing fifth day in the ICC World Test Championship final at the Rose Bowl in Hampshire on Tuesday evening.

India trailed New Zealand by 32 runs, but managed to wipe off the deficit but lost both their openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill in the process. New Zealand had earlier been bowled out for 249 as they gained ascendancy in the match.

Earlier, New Zealand resumed at their overnight score of 101 for two, after the entire fourth day's play was washed out. Play started late by 30 minutes on Tuesday after some early drizzle held up play.

They lost quick wickets, with the New Zealand score being reduced to 135 for five. Skipper Kane Williamson (49) held firm at one end, as the other lower-order batsmen played some attractive strokes.

Kyle Jamieson finished with 21 as he added a quick 30 for the seventh wicket with Williamson. Then Tim Southee took charge as he scored 30 off 46 balls with two sixes. Williamson was the eighth man to fall, but by then New Zealand had gained a lead. For a long while, India rotated their three seamers, but they finally pressed Ravichandran Ashwin into service and he immediately struck gold as he removed Neil Wagner.

Southee finally maximised the scoring and New Zealand ended on 249 with an overall lead of 32.

For India, the key wicket-takers were Mohammed Shami (4-76), Ishant Sharma (3-48) and Ashwin (2-28).

India played out the rest of the day to finish on 64 for two in their 30 overs. India lost Sharma for 30 and his partner Gill for just eight as they tried very hard to play out the rest of the day without any damage.

Sharma played an uncharacteristic knock which finally ended with him shouldering his arms, while Gill fell to an incoming delivery. Southee claimed both the wickets for New Zealand.

The Test will now be completed on the sixth day which was initially meant to be a reserve day.

Match Summary

India (1st Innings): 217 (92.1 overs)

New Zealand (1st Innings): 249 (99.2 overs)
Fall of wickets: 3-117 (Ross Taylor-63.1 ov), 4-134 (Henry Nicholls-69.3 ov), 5-135 (BJ Watling-70.2 ov), 6-162 (Colin de Grandhomme-82.1 ov), 7-192 (Kyle Jamieson-86.6 ov), 8-221 (Kane Williamson-93.6 ov), 9-234 (Neil Wagner-96.3 ov), 10-249 (Tim Southee-99.2 ov)

India (2nd Innings): 64-2 (30 overs)
Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Shubman Gill-10.4 ov), 2-51 (Rohit Sharma-26.5 ov)

End of fifth day's play, India lead by 32 runs

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain),  Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor,  Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson,  Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Match Details

Start Time: 10:30 am UK time

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Match Officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match Referee)