< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs New Zealand, ICC World Test Championship Final Day 6: Williamson, Taylor, Southee star in New Zealand's historic triumph

New Zealand emerged champion in the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship when they beat India on the final day by eight wickets to create history at Southampton's Rose Bowl Stadium.

New Zealand needed 139 runs to register a historic victory on the sixth day of the Test. They did so with eight wickets to spare thanks to skipper Kane Williamson and senior pro Ross Taylor. India's famed batting line-up came a cropper yet again and folded up for a mere 170, handing New Zealand with a golden chance to win the title.

Resuming at their overnight score of 64 for two, India was bowled out for just 170.

The problem started early on when India lost their three key players skipper Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane in the first session quite cheaply. The wrecker in chief was Kyle Jamieson who continued to hold sway over the Indian line-up.

Then it was upto Rishabh Pant (41) to stitch together a crucial stand with Ravindra Jadeja to steer India past the 100 run lead. But the end was always nearby because India's lower-order is virtually non-existent with the bat.

Pant and Jadeja added 33 runs for the sixth wicket. But after Jadeja fell, the match once turned New Zealand's way, as India's last four wickets added just 14 runs. The lower-order batting proving to be the big difference between both the sides yet again.

For New Zealand the key wicket-takers were Tim Southee (4-48), Trent Boult (3-39) and Jamieson (2-30).

The chase for New Zealand was quite effortless as they managed to stay afloat at all times. Their openers got off to a safe start with a 33 run stand.

Then Ashwin took charge with the ball, dismissing both the openers. But then the tide turned again for New Zealand as both skipper Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor added crucial runs.

Williamson survived a close leg-before appeal, a dropped catch and Taylor's dolly catch was dropped at first slip by Pujara. Once the floodgates opened it became difficult for India to control the run-flow.

Williamson finished on an unbeaten 52 off 89 balls with eight boundaries, whereas Taylor ended on 47 off 100 balls with six hits to the fence. The duo added 96 runs for the third wicket and led New Zealand to history.

New Zealand thus became the inaugural champion in the ICC World Test Championship. New Zealand beat India yet again in an ICC senior men's event. This was the second final where India had beaten by New Zealand in an ICC final after the 2000 Champions Trophy.

Match Summary
India (1st Innings): 217 (92.1 overs)
New Zealand (1st Innings): 249 (99.2 overs)

India (2nd Innings): 170 (73 overs)
Fall of wickets: 3-71 (Virat Kohli-35.5 ov), 4-72 (Cheteshwar Pujara-37.3 ov), 5-109 (Ajinkya Rahane-49.6 ov), 6-142 (Ravindra Jadeja-62.5 ov), 7-156 (Rishabh Pant-69.2 ov), 8-156 (Ravichandran Ashwin-69.4 ov), 9-170 (Mohammed Shami-72.2 ov), 10-170 (Jasprit Bumrah-72.6 ov)

New Zealand (2nd Innings): 140-2 (45.5 overs)
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Tom Latham-13.3 ov), 2-44 (Devon Conway-17.2 ov)

Result: New Zealand won by eight wickets

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain),  Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor,  Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson,  Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Match Details

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Match Officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match Referee)

©Cricket World 2021