< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs Sri Lanka, 1st T20I: Kishan and Iyer make it perfect ten for India

India started off its campaign in the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka with a fine 62-run win in the opening game. This was India's 10th successive T20 International win.

In the first match at Lucknow, India after being asked to bat posted 199 for two in their 20 overs. In their response Sri Lanka was limited to

Earlier, India's openers captain Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan added 111 for the first wicket. Sharma was the first to fall in the 12th over. Then Kishan added a further 44 runs for the second wicket with Shreyas Iyer. Kishan finally fell for 89 off 56 balls with 10 boundaries and three sixes. Towards the end, Shreyas Iyer finished on a high as he made an unbeaten 57 off 28 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. Iyer added 44 runs for the third wicket in an ubroken stand. In the end, India finished on 199 for two in 20 overs.

In their response, Sri Lanka lost Pathum Nissanka off the very first ball of the innings. Thereafter, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals. They were reduced to 60 for five. Then there was a 37 run sixth wicket stand between Charith Asalanka and Chamika Karunaratne. Asalanka was the only batter to carry the bat as the others fell around him. Asalanka finally finished on an unbeaten 53 off 47 balls. Sri Lanka finally finished on 137 for six in their 20 overs.

For India the wicket-takers were Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Venkatesh Iyer. Earlier, India handed T20I debut to Deepak Hooda. The second T20I will be played on Saturday at Dharamsala.

Match Summary
India: 199-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-111 (Rohit Sharma-11.5 ov), 2-155 (Ishan Kishan-16.6 ov)

Sri Lanka: 137-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Pathum Nissanka-0.1 ov), 2-15 (Kamil Mishara-2.6 ov), 3-36 (Janith Liyanage-6.6 ov), 4-51 (Dinesh Chandimal-9.2 ov), 5-60 (Dasun Shanaka-10.5 ov), 6-97 (Chamika Karunaratne-15.4 ov)

Result - India won by 62 runs, lead series 1-0


Playing XIs

India: Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Charith Asalanka, Janith Liyanage, Dinesh Chandimal (wicket-keeper), Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lahiru Kumara

Match details

Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field

Venue: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

Start time: 1900 hrs India time

Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022