< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I: Iyer, Samson and Jadeja make it 11 in a row

India registered its 11th successive T20 International win as they beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets to take a 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

At the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium in Dharamsala, Sri Lanka batted first and posted 183 for five in their 20 overs. India chased down the score in 17.1 overs to finish on 186 for three.

Earlier, Sri Lanka after being asked to bat, started off briskly. Patthum Nissanka and Danushka Gunathilaka added 67 for the opening wicket. Later, Sri Lanka was helped by a brisk 58 run fifth wicket stand between Nissanka (75: 53b, 11x4) and captain Dasun Shanaka. In the end Sri Lanka finished on 183 for five in their 20 overs. Shanaka ended on an unbeaten 47 off 19 balls with two boundaries and five sixes. Sri Lanka blasted 72 runs in the last four overs including 23 in the final over off Harshal Patel.

In the chase, India lost captain Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan quite cheaply. Then Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson put on a brisk 84 run third wicket stand to revive the chase. Samson fell with the score on 128 in 13th over for 39 off 25 balls with two boundaries and three sixes. Iyer then joined forces with Ravindra Jadeja to add 58 runs for the fourth wicket. Iyer finally finished unbeaten on 74 off 44 balls with six boundaries and four sixes, while Jadeja ended on a swift 45 off 18 balls with seven boundaries and a six.

For Sri Lanka, the best wicket-taker was Lahiru Kumara (2-31). India achieved the win in 17.1 overs to finish on 186 for three.

The third and final T20 International will be played on Sunday.

Earlier, India remained unchanged, while Sri Lanka made two changes to their playing XI in the second T20 International.

Ravindra Jadeja addressed a press conference after the second T20I against Sri Lanka

Match Summary

India: 183-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Danushka Gunathilaka-8.4 ov), 2-71 (Charith Asalanka-9.5 ov), 3-76 (Kamil Mishara-10.6 ov), 4-102 (Dinesh Chandimal-14.4 ov), 5-160 (Pathum Nissanka-18.6 ov)

India: 186-3 (17.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Rohit Sharma-0.6 ov), 2-44 (Ishan Kishan-5.1 ov), 3-128 (Sanju Samson-12.6 ov)


Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Charith Asalanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dinesh Chandimal (wicket-keeper), Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama, Binura Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

Match Details

Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
Start time: 1900 hrs India time
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022