< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India, West Indies confirm Test tour

India, West Indies confirm Test tour
The Test matches will be played between 21st July and 22nd August.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) have confirmed the upcoming four-match Test series between the two nations scheduled to be hosted in the Caribbean from 21st July.

The four Test matches will be played in Antigua, Jamaica, St Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago respectively while the entire series will last from 21st July to 22nd August.

Prior to the start of the Test series, India will also play two practice matches in St Kitts – a two-day game that starts on 9th July and a three-day fixture that will get underway on 14th July.

In April, the BCCI and WICB decided to resume the bilateral ties which were brought to a standstill after the West Indies team abandoned a tour of India midway through 2014.

However, after the WICB agreed to tour India in 2017 to make up for the abandoned tour, the BCCI dropped the demand for a $41.97 million penalty and resumed the bilateral ties.

WICB Head of Operations Roland Holder stated that all the venues in the Caribbean "are ready to host the visiting Indian team and keen contests are expected."

India are currently on a five-series winning streak against the West Indies – a run that started with the 2-0 victory in the three-match series in the 2002-03 season.

Schedule for India tour of West Indies 2016

Practice Matches

1. Two day – 9th July – 10th July - St Kitts
2. Three day - 4th July – 6th July - St Kitts

Test series

1. 1st Test - July 21st - 25th - Antigua
2. 2nd Test -July 30th - August 3rd - Jamaica
3. 3rd Test - August 9th - 13th - St Lucia
4. 4th Test - August 18th - 22nd - Trinidad and Tobago

© Cricket World 2016