Knee Injury Rules Pietersen Out Of Champions Trophy

Knee Injury Rules Pietersen Out Of Champions Trophy
Knee Injury Rules Pietersen Out Of Champions Trophy
©REUTERS / Action Images

England batsman Kevin Pietersen has suffered a further injury setback with the news that his knee injury will keep him out of the Champions Trophy as well as the New Zealand Test series.

Having left the tour of New Zealand in March early, he was sidelined for the Indian Premier League and the May Tests but this latest news means he will not return to action until the middle of June - too late for him to play in the Champions Trophy.

The news came after a repeat MRI scan on his right knee revealed that although the bone bruising is improving, it has not healed enough for him to be considered for either the One-Day International series against New Zealand, which begins on 31st May, or the Champions Trophy.

England and Wales host the competition with England taking on Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand on 8th, 13th and 16th June.

Pietersen's latest setback will inevitably put his participation in the Ashes in the spotlight, as if all goes well with his recovery, he may have limited match practice to prepare for the opening Test at Trent Bridge on 10th July.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia