< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

International Coaching Class to Grace UAE T20x

International Coaching Class to Grace UAE T20x
International Coaching Class to Grace UAE T20x

UAE T20x announced the names of some of the world's legendary international cricket coaches who will be a part of UAE’s first ever international cricket league.

The five franchises will seek to pick these iconic names in the draft, which is scheduled to take place in November. The star-studded coach and mentor pool, now consists of close to 180 accomplished career coaches and former cricketers from 16 nations.

Cricket fans from around the world will be delighted to know that top-class cricketing figures such as Virender Sehwag, Javed Miandad, Misbah Ul Haq, Shoaib Akhtar, Sir Vivian Richards, Brian Lara, Graeme Smith, Allan Donald, Jonty Rhodes, Alec Stewart, TM Dilshan and Muttiah Muralitharan will serve as coaches to budding talent in the UAE T20x debut – taking place from 19 December to 11 January in Dubai and Sharjah.

These notable names are complemented by India’s Venkatesh Prasad, Robin Sigh, Sriram Krishnamurthy and AR Srikkanth; Pakistan’s Inzamam ul Haq, Waqar Younis, Saqlain Mushtaq, Saeed Ajmal, Moin Khan, Abdul Razzaq and Amir Sohail; Sri Lanka’s Chaminda Vaas; England’s Julien Fountain, Ashley Giles, Darren Gough, Richard Pybus and Paul Farbrace.

Additionally, South Africa’s Gary Kirsten, Herschelle Gibbs, Lance Klusener, Paddy Upton and Nikcy Boje will add ‘Protean power’ to the league whilst Heath Streak and Tatenda Taibu will bring along Zimbabwean sizzle to the first edition of the UAE T20x.

Joining the list of top-class coaches mentioned above are Australia’s Tom Moody, Dean Jones, Dev Whatmore, Micheal Bevan, Darren Berry, Simon Katich, John Buchnan, Stuard McGill and Julien Fountain along with the Kiwis, namely, Kyle Mills, Andre Adams, Grant Bradburn and Grant Elliot add to the star-studded affair.

There isn’t a shortage of Caribbean class with Courtney Walsh, Ricardo Powell, Phil Simmons and Vasbert Drakes all signed up to be part of the highly-anticipated league. These extraordinary cricketers have all signed up to get involved as coaches in the December event.

Salman Sarwar Butt, CEO of UAE T20x said: “Without a doubt, this is one of the most internationally-representative T20 competitions, providing opportunities for players and coaches alike.

We continuously strive to rope in the best in the sport – from players to coaches to mentors. This new event is a UAE national sporting asset and we aim to leave a lasting legacy for the game in the UAE and across the region."

Additionally, Eoin Morgan, David Miller, Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara have all been confirmed as icon players joining the league's global ambassador, AB de Villiers.

UAE T20x will make its debut this December with five new franchise teams vying for the inaugural title in a 22-match format to be played over 24 days. The five franchises will comprise a squad of 16 featuring six international star players, four emerging and junior players, three ICC Associate Member players, and three UAE national team players.

No other T20 competition has been established with these developmental goals at their core, and no other event will showcase such a wide array of international talent.

© Cricket World 2018