< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 20: Holder, Pandey and Shankar fashion Hyderabad win

Jason Holder bowled a terrific spell
Jason Holder bowled a terrific spell

Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Rajasthan Royals by eight wickets to keep their play-off hopes alive in the Indian Premier League on Thursday night at the Dubai International Stadium.

After being asked to bat, Rajasthan posted a modest 154 for six in their 20 overs. The key contributors were Ben Stokes (30) and Sanju Samson (36). Stokes and Samson posted a second wicket stand of 56. Thereafter, there was a collapse. For a while captain Steve Smith (19) and Riyan Parag (20) held things up, but not much was achieved from that. In the end it was a disappointing finish. All-rounder Jason Holder (3-33) made a fantastic debut to end up as the most successful bowler for Hyderabad. Holder also effected a run-out.

The chase for Hyderabad was sketchy as they lost captain David Warner and Jonny Bairstow quite early on. Jofra Archer with two for 21 was the most destructive. Thereafter, it was down to a fantastic unbeaten 140 run third wicket stand between Manish Pandey (83 n.o.: 47b, 4x4, 8x6) and Vijay Shankar (52 n.o.: 51b, 6x4). They sealed the win quite easily in the end to finish at 156 for two in 18.1 overs.

Match Summary - Rajasthan Royals v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 40th Match, Indian Premier League

Rajasthan Royals 154-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Robin Uthappa-3.3 ov), 2-86 (Sanju Samson-11.4 ov), 3-86 (Ben Stokes-12.1 ov), 4-110 (Jos Buttler-15.3 ov), 5-134 (Steven Smith-18.1 ov), 6-135 (Riyan Parag-18.2 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 156-2 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (David Warner-0.4 ov), 2-16 (Jonny Bairstow-2.4 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Hyderabad won by eight wickets


Playing XI
Rajasthan Royals: Ben Stokes, Robin Uthappa, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Steve Smith (captain), Jos Buttler, Rahul Tewatia, Riyan Parag, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan, Shahbaz Nadeem