IPL 2011 To Comprise Eight Teams And 60 Matches

IPL 2011 To Comprise Eight Teams And 60 Matches
IPL 2011 To Comprise Eight Teams And 60 Matches

The 2011 edition of the Indian Premier League Twenty20 competition will comprise eight teams and include 60 matches with an altered play-off system.

Although the competition's governing council has decided on the number of teams, it is not clear which teams will be participating as issues surrounding the Kochi franchises are yet to be resolved.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on 8th April, just six days after the World Cup final in Mumbai and player auctions are to be taking place on 8th and 9th January - also in Mumbai.

Teams will be allowed to retain four of their current players ahead of the auction and their auction purse will be reduced accordingly.

The new play-off system will see the top two sides in the league standings play each other to determine the first finalist. The sides finishing third and fourth will then meet to determine which side plays the loser of the first play-off for the second final place.

Chennai Super Kings are the reigning champions, while the Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural event in 2008 and the Deccan Chargers triumphed in 2009.

Earlier this year, the governing council revealed that the Kings XI Punjab and the Royals had been thrown out of the tournament.

Kochi, who have been given a deadline of 27th November to sort out internal problems, are one of two new teams for 2010 along with the Pune Warriors.

© Cricket World 2010