IPL 2012: Delhi Bowl Mumbai Out For 92 On Way To Thumping Win

IPL 2012: Delhi Bowl Mumbai Out For 92 On Way To Thumping Win
IPL 2012: Delhi Bowl Mumbai Out For 92 On Way To Thumping Win
©REUTERS / Action Images

Delhi Daredevils 93-3 beat
Mumbai Indians 92 (Yadav 2-11) by seven wickets
Indian Premier League, Mumbai

The Delhi Daredevils jumped to the top of the Indian Premier League table with a convincing win over traditional rivals the Mumbai Indians in a one-sided game at the Wankhede Stadium.

The Mumbai team were dismissed for just 92 as only two players reached double figures and such a modest target proved little obstacle to Delhi, who raced home in the 15th over.

Four Delhi bowlers took two wickets and captain Virender Sehwag led the way with the bat by hitting 32. His opposite number Harbhajan Singh top scored for his side with 33 but was left to rue a remarkably poor batting display that meant the game was something of a no-contest after they were reduced to 44 for six.

The Mumbai Indians lost the toss and then lost their way in dramatic fashion with the bat. Openers Richard Levi (1) and Davy Jacobs (0) were tied down by Irfan Pathan at one end and left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem profited by bowling both.

Ambati Rayudu (4) and Rohit Sharma (29) then attempted a recovery before their stand was ended in chaotic circumstances when a complete breakdown in communication led to Rayudu being run out by yards.

Umesh Yadav then grabbed his brace of wickets by removing Kieron Pollard for one and Dinesh Karthik for three and Sharma fell, having hit five fours in 27 balls, when he was caught by Ross Taylor off Ajit Agarkar.

Taylor, making his Delhi debut after a fractured arm ruled him out of the start of the tournament, was back in the action again when he took another high catch - comfortably, too - to see off Pollard.

Captain Harbhajan Singh then took it upon himself to try to haul the home side up towards a century but despite a valiant 33 in 22 balls including five fours and a six, he was unable to do so.

The pace of Morne Morkel on a pitch conducive offering bounce ad carry was too much for him and RP Singh, who was clean bowled by the South African for nought.

Clint McKay fell for eight when Pathan got himself a deserved wicket and the innings ended when Pragyan Ojha was bowled by Agarkar for three.

If Mumbai badly missed Sachin Tendulkar with the bat, missing Lasith Malinga with the ball seriously lessened their already slim chances of getting anything out of the game.

Virender Sehwag hit the first ball he faced for six over point to highlight the gulf between the two sides on the day although Mumbai tightened their lines and attempted to make a fight of it, showing good energy in the field and some hostility with ball in hand.

McKay was welcomed to the attack as Naman Ojha (13) muscled him over midwicket for a boundary and his dismissal, caught by Harbhajan off RP Singh, was followed by Kevin Pietersen quickly getting into his stride with a powerfully-struck boundary.

After Sehwag was dreadfully dropped by Levi on the boundary, Pietersen (9) pulled RP Singh to Jacobs at midwicket and the catch was held, although it was by then already too late for Mumbai.

By his own extraordinary circumstances, Sehwag was relatively circumspect thereafter, making 32 in 36 balls before he was well caught by Levi, making no mistake this time under a high one off the bowling of Ojha.

Mahela Jayawardene and Ross Taylor then forged a partnership build around scurrying quick singles as they scurried to victory with a minimum of fuss, the former unbeaten on 17 and the latter making 11.

They reached their target with more than five overs remaining as they gave their already healthy net run-rate another boost.

© Cricket World 2012