IPL 2012: Delhi Clinch One-Run Win Over Rajasthan

IPL 2012: Delhi Clinch One-Run Win Over Rajasthan
IPL 2012: Delhi Clinch One-Run Win Over Rajasthan
©REUTERS / Action Images

Delhi Daredevils 152-6 beat
Rajasthan Royals 151-3 (Rahane 84no) by 1 runs
Indian Premier League 2012, Delhi

Indian Premier League 2012's leading run-scorer Ajinkya Rahane was reduced to tears as the Delhi Daredevils held on to beat the Rajasthan Royals by one run at home.

He closed unbeaten on 84 but was unable to get his side over the line in a thrilling finale, Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav closing out the game for Delhi.

Morkel dismissed Brad Hodge in the penultimate over and Yadav conceded ten from the final over, bowling a dot ball to Rahane at the end, resulting in the run out of Owais Shah as the batsmen desperately trying to cross to tie the scores.

Rahane passed 400 runs for the tournament with a fine innings, facing 63 balls, hitting nine fours and one six but Delhi extended their lead at the top to three points once again.

Batting first, they posted 152 for six thanks to Virender Sehwag's 63 in 39 balls and contributions from Ross Taylor (25) and Yogesh Nagar (27), fighting back after Pankaj and Amit Singh both took two wickets.

Sehwag carried on the imperious form that saw him blast a half-century against the Deccan Chargers by hitting eight fours and two sixes.

The solid Rajasthan opening partnership of Rahane and Rahul Dravid (40) then put on 99 runs inside 14 overs to keep the match in the balance and although Delhi's bowlers produced a fine display, Rahane, Hodge and Shah - as three of the tournament's form players - kept Rajasthan in with a chance.

Dravid fell when he was caught by Ajit Agarkar off Irfan Pathan while Rahane, who struck nine fours and a six, added 42 with Hodge, who was trapped in front by the impressive Morkel to leave Rahane and Shah the task of scoring 12 to win from the final over.

Yadav allowed just two runs from the first three deliveries and the frantic finish was set up after Rahane hit a six and then grabbed two runs from the penultimate delivery.

It was not to be for the 2008 champions, however, and after Yadav bowled a brilliant last ball, Naman Ojha sealed the game by hitting the stumps with an underarm throw.

© Cricket World 2012