< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings Into The Final

	IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings Into The Final
IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings Into The Final
©REUTERS / Action Images

Chennai Super Kings 192-1 (Hussey 86no) beat
Mumbai Indians 144 (Bravo 3-9) by 48 runs
Indian Premier League 2013 Qualifier, Delhi
Report by Chetan Narula at the Feroz Shah Kotla

Even by their own lofty standards, Chennai Super Kings delivered a superb performance to beat Mumbai Indians by 48 runs and secure their passage into the final of the Indian Premier League 2013.

It will be their fourth successive appearance (and fifth overall) and nobody could argue against their presence after they scored 192 for one and bowled Mumbai out for 144 to secure a dominant victory.

Half-centuries from Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina set them on their way and despite 68 in 28 balls from Dwayne Smith, three wickets apiece from Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo sealed Mumbai's fate, although they can still meet Chennai in the final if they win Friday's qualifier against either Rajasthan Royals or Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first on a flat Kotla track. There wasn’t much in it for the bowlers and it was apparent from the first wicket partnership that Murali Vijay and Hussey put on.

52 runs flowed off 44 balls, with Vijay getting 23 off 20 balls, hitting two fours. In a way his dismissal, caught in the deep off Kieron Pollard (1-28) was the turning point. A second wicket did not fall, as Raina alongwith Hussey, put the match beyond Mumbai’s reach.

It was almost a race between the two as they played delightful strokes all over the park, decimating the bowling attack, as they put on an unbeaten stand of 140 runs in 12.4 overs or just 64 balls. Hussey won the duel and was unbeaten on 86 off 56 balls, with ten fours and two sixes, winning back the Orange Cap from Chris Gayle.

Raina almost matched him, hitting 82 runs off only 42 balls, with five fours and five sixes. Such was their ferocity that an otherwise balanced attack bled runs, 123 coming off the last ten overs.

Lasith Malinga (0-45), Mitchell Johnson (0-40), Munaf Patel (0-32), Harbhajan Singh (0-26) and Pragyan Ojha (0-20) were all expensive as Chennai finished with an imposing 192 for one.

In response, Mumbai Indians needed a great start and Smith obliged, hitting a rollicking 68 off only 28 balls, inclusive of six fours and five sixes. This despite the early loss of Aditya Tare (7) who was again playing because Sachin Tendulkar wasn’t still completely fit and available for the game.

Smith’s innings got them to a rate of 10 runs-per-over and they were cruising at 87 for one in the ninth over, when Ravindra Jadeja came on to bowl. The left-arm spinner changed the innings’ course with a haul of three for 31 and Mumbai's innings just collapsed. He sent back Dinesh Karthik (11) as well, and afterwards Rohit Sharma (8) left early as well, scalped by Chris Morris (1-26).

Only Pollard was their big hope as the run-rate climbed and he looked to be in the right mood, hitting massive sixes off Jadeja, but the bowler duly got his revenge. Pollard was gone for 24 and there was no coming back for Mumbai.

Apart from Ambati Rayudu (15), the remaining batsmen didn’t even reach double figures, with Dwayne Bravo (3-9) running through their lower order.

Mumbai were all out for 144 in 18.4 overs, with Mohit Sharma (2-32) and Albie Morkel (1-26) the other wicket-takers.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video