IPL 2013: Mishra Hat-Trick Hands Sunrisers Victory

	IPL 2013: Mishra Hat-Trick Hands Sunrisers Victory
IPL 2013: Mishra Hat-Trick Hands Sunrisers Victory
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sunrisers Hyderabad 119-8 (Samantray 37) beat
Pune Warriors 108 by 11 runs
Indian Premier League 2013, Pune
Report by John Pennington

Amit Mishra took his third Indian Premier League hat-trick to bowl Sunrisers Hyderabad to an 11-run win over Pune Warriors as they successfully defended a score of 119 for eight.

Mishra finished with figures of four for 12, dismissing Buvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma and Ashok Dinda to bowl the home side out for 108 after they lost their last six wickets for just seven runs.

Biplab Sumantray top scored for Pune with 37 and Mishra had made 30 as they recovered from a score of 44 for six to haul themselves up to what was eventually a defendable score.

For most of Pune's innings, it didn't look like it would be but Mitchell Marsh's departure in the 17th over for 14 was the catalyst for a clatter of wickets as Pune went from 101 for four to 108 all out to hand Sunrisers their fourth victory of the tournament.

Kumar had bowled beautifully, taking three for 18 as he, Dinda (1-25) and Sharma (2-21) left Sunrisers in all sorts of trouble. Samantray hit 37 in as many balls with three fours and a six while Mishra blasted 30 in 24 balls.

Ashish Reddy then finished unbeaten on 19 in 15 but few thought that anything other than a Pune win was the most likely outcome.

Robin Uthappa blasted 22 in 14 balls and Aaron Finch 16 in 13 and Pune were on course, the pair putting on 38 for the first wicket before Uthappa was caught by Samantray off Thisara Perera, who immediately struck again to remove Finch, caught by Quinton de Kock.

Tirumalasetti Suman was next to go when he was trapped in front by Karan Sharma, then Steve Smith was caught by Reddy off Ishant Sharma as the wheels on Pune's rickety wagon began to fall off.

Marsh's dismissal, caught in the deep started the rot, being as it was the final ball that Dale Steyn had to bowl and he left, having scored 14 in 13 balls, well aware that he had thrown his wicket away.

He wouldn't be the only one. Abhishek Nayar (0) and captain Angelo Mathews (20) tried big shots but only picked out fielders and from 107 for seven, it was time for Mishra to steal the show.

Kumar was perhaps a fraction unlucky to be given out as the ball may have been slipping down the leg side but there was no doubt about the dismissals of Sharma and Dinda, the former bowled by a straight ball, the latter by a googly through the proverbially gaping gap between bat and pad.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video