IPL 2013: Mumbai Go Top After Derby Win Over Pune

IPL 2013: Mumbai Go Top After Derby Win Over Pune
IPL 2013: Mumbai Go Top After Derby Win Over Pune
©REUTERS / Action Images

Mumbai Indians 183-3 (Sharma 62no) beat
Pune Warriors 142-8 by 41 runs
Indian Premier League 2013, Mumbai
Report by Chetan Narula

Mumbai Indians rose to the top of the Indian Premier League 2013 table with a commanding 41-run win over Pune Warriors at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

It was a local derby of sorts for the two teams from neighbouring cities and Mumbai came out on top as Pune suffered their third defeat in four matches.

Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat first. For the first time this season, Mumbai Indians got a solid start from their openers as Ponting (14) and Sachin Tendulkar put up 54 runs for the first wicket. Tendulkar smacked 44 runs off 29 balls, with seven fours and one six, but the two legendary batsmen fell within six runs off each other to hand the initiative back to Pune.

Dinesh Karthik then continued his good run of form to add another 44 runs to his tally and take control of the Orange Cap once again, as the tournament’s highest run-scorer.

He made 41 runs, facing the same number of balls as Tendulkar did, and hit four fours as well as a six. It was once again his partnership with Rohit Sharma that steered Mumbai towards another high total, the duo this time adding 55 runs for the third wicket.

Sharma was the true star of the Mumbai innings and was awarded the man-of-the-match award for his stellar, unbeaten half-century. He scored 62 runs off 32 balls, with three fours and five mighty sixes. So much so that he put the big-hitting Kieron Polla-rd in shade as the West Indian played a spectator in the fourth-wicket partnership worth 68 runs.

Pollard too was unbeaten at the end, on 19 off 14 balls, with one four and one six, as Mumbai Indians finished on 183 for three.

Aaron Finch (1-11), Yuvraj Singh (1-13) and Mitchell Marsh (1-24) were the wicket-takers, with the rest of the bowlers carted around the park.

With their hard hitting, Mumbai batsmen seemed to have swung the momentum in their team’s favour and Mitchell Johnson (3-33) drove home the advantage further with the new ball. Finch was bowled for a duck in the first over, and then Robin Uthappa (7) was also sent back early.

In between, Ross Taylor (4) was run out and Pune, tottering at 13 for three, were never really in the chase after that.

Yuvraj Singh (24) and Tirumalasetti Suman (23) tried to resurrect the innings with some lusty shots. Suman hit five boundaries, while Yuvraj hit one four and two sixes, but they couldn’t get the innings back on track and perished in the attempt to chase a tall target.

Captain Angelo Mathews could only contribute 19 runs. While Johnson was the pick of the bowlers, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga and Kieron Pollard, all took a wicket each.

Marsh scored a quick-fire 38 off 26 balls, with two fours and two sixes, to provide a late surge to the innings. But despite his efforts, the target was never going to be achieved. Pune finished at 142 for eight and need to re-think where they want to go from here.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video