IPL 2013: Mumbai Impress As Kolkata Sink

IPL 2013: Mumbai Impress As Kolkata Sink
IPL 2013: Mumbai Impress As Kolkata Sink
©REUTERS / Action Images

Mumbai Indians 170-6 (Tendulkar 48) beat
Kolkata Knight Riders 105 by 65 runs
Indian Premier League 2013, Mumbai
Report by John Pennington

Mumbai Indians kept up the pressure on Indian Premier League 2013 leaders Chennai Super Kings with a convincing 65-run win over reigning champions Kolkata Knight Riders.

Runs for Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Smith and Dinesh Karthik guided Mumbai to 170 for six before Harbhajan Singh took three for 27 to dismiss Kolkata for 105.

Mitchell Johnson and Pragyan Ojha chipped in with a brace of wickets as only four Kolkata players reached double figures in the latest of a series of disappointing batting performances from Gautam Gambhir's men.

While Mumbai continue to play the sort of cricket that keeps them in contention for overall victory, Kolkata's play-off hopes are over.

Smith made 47 in 53 balls and Tendulkar 48 in just 28 either side of a floodlight failure that barely interrupted their rhythm during a 93-run stand in 13 overs.

That start enabled Dinesh Karthik (34 in 18) and Rohit Sharma (16 in 11) to play aggressively although two wickets from Ryan McLaren and one apiece for Iqbal Abdulla and Rajat Bhatia as well as two run outs threatened to derail Mumbai's innings.

Johnson finished the innings strongly with 10 not out in six balls as McLaren finished with figures of two for 60 in four overs as the wickets of Sharma and Kieron Pollard (4) coming at a high price.

Kolkata's innings quickly began to unravel. Johnson bowled Gambhir for a two-ball duck, Ojha had Bisla stumped for 17 and then bowled Yusuf Pathan for 13 and when Jacques Kallis was caught by Abu Nachim off Harbhajan for 24, Kolkata were in dire trouble at 58 for four.

Teams have come from such situations to compete but once Eoin Morgan - the only man Kolkata had capable of producing the sort of knock David Miller did earlier in the week - fell to Ahmed for five, the match was all but over at 77 for five.

That became 89 for six when Debrabata Das was caught and bowled by Harbhajan for 23, and immediately 89 for seven when McLaren was run out.

Harbhajan then had Bhatia caught by Lasith Malinga for four, Sunil Narine was caught by Karthik off Johnson for three and Malinga had the final word when he bowled Lakshmipathy Balaji for a three-ball duck with a slow-ball yorker.

Standings: Chennai Super Kings 18 points (12 matches played), Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals 16 (12), Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 (12), Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 (11), Kings XI Punjab 10 (11), Kolkata Knight Riders 8 (12), Delhi Daredevils 6 (12), Pune Warriors 4 (12)

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video