IPL 2013: Sunrisers Hand Delhi Another Defeat

IPL 2013: Sunrisers Hand Delhi Another Defeat
IPL 2013: Sunrisers Hand Delhi Another Defeat
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sunrisers Hyderabad 115-7 beat
Delhi Daredevils 114-8 by three wickets
Indian Premier League 2013, Delhi
Report by Chetan Narula 

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Delhi Daredevils by three wickets in a tight finish at the Feroz Shah Kotla, raising themselves up to third in the points table of 2013 IPL. With the return of Virender Sehwag to the first eleven, Delhi did scrap for victory and were in the hunt until the last over, but have now suffered four straight defeats. 

Hyderabad's chase was never on track, as they lost wickets regularly from the very beginning. Delhi skipper Mahela Jayawardene rotated his bowlers well and some smart work in the field kept them in the hunt. Debutant Siddarth Kaul (0-8) bowled a maiden over to start his IPL career, and then Akshath Reddy (1) was run-out superbly by Shahbaz Nadeem (2-17). The left-arm spinner was in action again when he ended the 44-run second wicket partnership between Parthiv Patel (19) and Kumar Sangakkara. The Sunrisers’ captain was their mainstay, scoring 28 runs off the same number of balls, with four fours. But he fell in the eleventh over and the score was 54 for three. From there onwards, the match got an interesting turn.

Hyderabad needed to score quickly and Cameron White (4) and Hanuma Vihari (17) were both victims of the same. Ashish Reddy scored a quick-fire 16 runs off 9 balls to bring them back in balance but he was bowled by Morne Morkel (2-27) to even the scales in Delhi’s favour again. 

With 18 needed off 18 balls, the match swung again as Thisara Perera (2) fell to a smart catch from Johan Botha off the bowling of Irfan Pathan (1-19). The equation came down to 6 runs needed off 6 balls in the end. Amit Mishra’s unbeaten 16 runs off 14 balls along with Dale Steyn’s nine not out helped them home. The two put together a nervy 15 runs to overcome a collapse of six for 54 to seal the team's third win in four matches. 

Earlier, Steyn was the hero with the ball as well, as he took two for 11 in his four overs and helped restrict Delhi Daredevils to 114 for eight in their allotted twenty overs. They limped to 29 for three after six overs, the worst powerplay performance of the season so far. David Warner (0) was caught off Steyn in the very first over and then Mahela Jayawardene was caught off Ishant Sharma after scoring 12 runs. The very next ball, Ishant Sharma (2-35) had Virender Sehwag (12) caught at wide slip and the crowd at Kotla went silent. 

Ishant couldn’t get his hat-trick but Delhi crawled to the slowest fifty yet in the tournament. Johan Botha (9) and Manprit Juneja (15) put on 18 runs, before Amit Mishra (1-15) gave another breakthrough in the middle. Irfan Pathan scored a watchful 23 runs off 30 balls, with one four, and Kedhar Jhadav top-scored with 30 unbeaten runs off 20 balls, with one four and two sixes revived the innings a tad towards the end. But the score they put up was never going to be enough. 


© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video