IPL 2013: Warner Hammers Delhi To Victory

IPL 2013: Warner Hammers Delhi To Victory
IPL 2013: Warner Hammers Delhi To Victory
©REUTERS / Action Images

Delhi Daredevils 137-3 (Warner 66no) beat
Kolkata Knight Riders 136-7 by seven wickets
Indian Premier League 2013, Raipur

Delhi Daredevils made it two wins in their new home ground of Raipur on the trot with a seven-wicket success over Kolkata Knight Riders.

The two teams are moving in opposite directions. This was Delhi's second win on the bounce and third in four while Kolkata's defence of their title is slipping away fast after their fifth defeat in six matches. Both teams now have six points.

While Delhi were outstanding in the field, taking their catches to restrict Kolkata to 136 for seven, the Knight Riders were poor, allowing Delhi to sweep to 137 for three in 17.5 overs.

David Warner continued his superb form with 66 not out in 42 balls, including six fours and three sixes, taking on the finisher's role at number four in the order and making it his own.

Unmukt Chand had helped him add 95 for the third wicket to set up the game after openers Virender Sehwag (17) and Mahela Jayawardene (5) had perished cheaply.

Ben Rohrer joined compatriot Warner to add the finishing touches to a strong performance from Delhi with 10 not out in three balls.

Earlier, Kolkata slipped to 16 for two and although a number of batsmen made starts, none could go on and make a match-turning score, a habit they have developed during their recent barren run.

Rajat Bhatia top scored with 26 not out in as many balls while Sumit Narwal (23), Yusuf Pathan (20) and Debrabata Das (18) were among those who got themselves in, looked to kick on, only to offer catches to Delhi, all of which were snaffled up.

Umesh Yadav finished with two for 36 while Irfan Pathan, Ashish Nehra, Morne Morkel and Shahbaz Nadeem took a wicket apiece.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video